Garlic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This recipe sounds great, but somehow I screwed it up. I added all the ingredients exactly as listed (minus the garlic powder - just fresh garlic), and somehow I ended up with a hole in the middle of the bread! Initially it rose up to the top of the bread machine and then all of a sudden it totally deflated. Also, something about it just did not taste right. Maybe this amount of yeast is too much? I have to try it again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I used five cloves of garlic and it came out perfect. Great recipe for my welbilt bread machine. Total cook time was four hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
this bread was really good...i made two loaves that i baked in the oven...they rose really nice and really had a good flavor and we lite and airy...and now as whenever i make bread i used vital wheat gluten and didn't have chives so i used dried parsley and parmigiano/reggiano coz i had some...yes i will make this again...thank you for the recipe...made it again exactly with what i had done before but baked it in my new bread machine...turned out great!!!...really good recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I really liked this bread for everything! Husband liked it for "bread" for dipping or alone, but not as sandwhich bread. I did double the garlic and omitted the chives. Made the house smell wonderful while cooking! I did cook in the oven for 35 minutes at 350 rather than using a bread maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreavyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This recipe smelled delicious, but had no garlic bread flavor to it. Just tasted like bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKBUZZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
A good sandwich bread. As other reviewers mentioned, it doesn't have a strong garlic flavor, but I am not huge on garlic, so I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This bread was the first one I made in my new bread machine. It was a big hit! I took others advice and added more minced garlic. I didn't have any chives but would try it again with them. I used grated Pecorino Romano instead of Parmesan. I used 1/2 the pepper. My daughter and her family were here and everyone wanted it again with soup for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This was a really good garlic bread. I did notice that alot of others were saying it needed more garlic, so I tripled both the minced garlic and the garlic powder. It went very nicely with the baked ziti we had for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wentzville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This was good, but not "great". It smelled really good when baking, but even though I doubled the garlic, the flavor was lacking. I guess I should have added a bunch of garlic powder or something
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Loved this- I used 8 cloves minced garlic rather than the garlic suggested. I also used fresh oregano and basil, and no pepper. But it was very moist with a crisp crust. The whole family voted to add it to the weekly rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Medford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States