Garlic Bread Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This is exactly how I used to make the garlic bread at a grocery store I used to work at. The only difference is the only dry herb we used was parsley, we didn't add the italian herbs, so it had a more mild taste and went with more meals. In the end we would sprinkle on some "paprika" for a little bit of red color and then wrap each half for sale. It makes garlic bread similar to the ones you get at the grocery store deli, and I even think it tastes a little like the frozen ones, but the ingredients are more natural and it is cheaper to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
it just needs a little salt for seasoning,kind of bland,but,it was not bad at all and it was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Barnesville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Delicious! This is definitely enough spread for a large loaf of Italian bread. I just eyeballed the amounts of spices and added a little extra garlic and oregano, a splash of olive oil to make it spread nicer and left out the Parmesan cheese (personal preference). I baked mine at a slightly higher oven temperature (400) and then proceeded to get it nice and crispy under the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Very Good! Less expensive & you could probably spread thinly onto 2 whole loafs- makes quite a bit. I used butter (which I would normally prefer)but next time I will use margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Very good! I made it to go along with the "Worlds Best Lasagna" recipe. I didn't have Fines Herbes (equal parts Tarragon, Parsley, Chervil, Chives), so mine had to go without the 1/16 tsp of Tarragon and Chervil. It was still great though! I used unsalted butter, but maybe next time a little salt would be nice (or maybe just use margarine like someone suggested?) I tried both baking it into the bread and spreading it onto warm bread, and yeah, duh, baking it in makes a world of difference. This recipe makes enough to spread onto 1 small loaf of Italian bread. Dang good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Husband and kids loved it! I only added more garlic and a little salt to give it just a bit more bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This was good! I added a little salt and cracked pepper and in place of all the other herbs, I used italian seasoning. This really reminded me of a traditional garlic bread and we enjoyed it very much! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This was great! My husband loves the store-made garlic spread that you can buy in most grocery store bakery departments. This was absolutely the one. He was beyond thrilled. I did use day-old baguettes that I bought off the discount bread shelf as I'm tight on money for a while. I swear, this could make shoe leather taste good. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
My family loved this recipe. The only changes I made was leaving out the fine herbs and adding olive oil to the butter to make it more spreadable. The best garlic bread I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDENICOL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
The best spread I've tried! Truly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Garlic and Parmesan Chicken Wings

See how to make garlicky, crispy chicken wings.

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States