Garlic Bread Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Delicious! This is definitely enough spread for a large loaf of Italian bread. I just eyeballed the amounts of spices and added a little extra garlic and oregano, a splash of olive oil to make it spread nicer and left out the Parmesan cheese (personal preference). I baked mine at a slightly higher oven temperature (400) and then proceeded to get it nice and crispy under the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This was great! My husband loves the store-made garlic spread that you can buy in most grocery store bakery departments. This was absolutely the one. He was beyond thrilled. I did use day-old baguettes that I bought off the discount bread shelf as I'm tight on money for a while. I swear, this could make shoe leather taste good. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This is exactly how I used to make the garlic bread at a grocery store I used to work at. The only difference is the only dry herb we used was parsley, we didn't add the italian herbs, so it had a more mild taste and went with more meals. In the end we would sprinkle on some "paprika" for a little bit of red color and then wrap each half for sale. It makes garlic bread similar to the ones you get at the grocery store deli, and I even think it tastes a little like the frozen ones, but the ingredients are more natural and it is cheaper to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Great spread, lots of flavor. Much less mess than sprinkling the seasoning over the top. Thanks this was perfect with our spaghetti supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This was an absolute winner at the recent bbq i had with a group of friends. i followed the recipe almost exactly, though i played around with the herbs since i didn't have everthing on hand. Then since there was no toaster at the bbq, i applied the spread on slices of baguette, wrapped them individually with aluminium foil, and tossed them on the bbq grill for 5 minutes. they came out toasty and warm and cheesy, and people couldn't stop raving about it. An absolute keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
My husband is not real fond of bread, but he ate 2 pieces pieces!!!! I did change it up a bit, I used italian seasoning instead of the Fines, marjorum, basil, oregano & parsley. I also used French Bread and sprinkled a small amount of sharp cheddar to the top before baking, it came out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Kollhopp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I have made this several times for family gatherings. Everyone absolutely loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mustang, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This was probably the best garlic bread I have ever had, I didnt' have marjoram and that was about the only thing I left out, my boyfriend loved it too. We put it on ciabatta breat and he had 2 1/2 pieces
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I'll try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Very Good! Less expensive & you could probably spread thinly onto 2 whole loafs- makes quite a bit. I used butter (which I would normally prefer)but next time I will use margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Garlic and Parmesan Chicken Wings

See how to make garlicky, crispy chicken wings.

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States