Garlic Bread Fantastique Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
What a great idea to add the mayo, it makes a difference. My family loved this and there were no left overs. I served it with Donna's Lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Delicious! I did not use nearly as much butter as the recipe called for...used about 3 T butter spread and 1 T Mayo, and I omitted the salt altogether because the butter added enough salt for me. I also mixed the parmesan cheese in with the spread, and then sprinkled mozzarella cheese on top. It was fantastic!! The mayo was really an awesome addition to traditional garlic bread recipes. I only gave 4 stars because I think that 1/2 cup of butter would have been way excessive, and the recipe really does not need any extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Very good. A bit too salty as others indicated. I will eliminate the salt next time since I use salted butter. Watch the bread carefully when it's under the broiler. I burned the first batch. I was glad I had another loaf of bread :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Venus
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
since it was just a dinner for two, I had to recalculate the ingredients ... took the base of the butter, garlic (minced) and mayo (hellmens).. used Italian seasoning instead of oregano/sage ... like the flavor of the mix better ... just personal preference. Tasted it, added some salt and pepper to my taste ... I also added some dried parsley ... buttered up some Italian sliced bread ... and BAM ... some of the best garlic bread I've had!!! Great idea with the mayo ... my mother worked in a dinner in the 50s, they used mayo alot in place of butter for grilled sandwhiches ... never put the two together! Thanks a Million!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorpark, California, USA
Living In: Ashland, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Yum. This is so great. Just be careful not to burn it. 4 minutes under my broiler was almost too much. It would be a shame to ruin such great bread! Caution: be sure your butter is soft enough so you can really blend all the ingredients well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiina Dygert Hazelett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
UPDATE: MADE AGAIN TONIGHT, BUT THIS TIME, I SLICED MY ITALIAN LOAF IN HALF AS DIRECTED, MINCED MY GARLIC AND SPRINKLED WITH SHREDDED MOZZA - EVEN BETTER THIS WAY!!! Pretty good (if I do say so myself!)!!! I had some French baugette leftover from Sun. night's dinner that needed using up, so I decided to give this a try. With a few modifications, I think this has potential to become my "tried & true" stand-by recipe for sure! The recipe I have been using for yrs. is pretty basic - butter, garlic, parsley and Parm mixed together. I like the fact that Mela's recipe is "kicked" up a notch. The mayo and sage are perfect (who knew?)! I did not find this to be salty at all, but I used unsalted butter, so that could be why (?). My only changes were slicing my baugette into med-thick slices as opposed to halving it lengthwise as directed (I wasn't paying attention when I cut my bread into slices!) and mixing the Parm cheese into my butter mixture. Oh, and I drizzled each slice with a bit of EVOO in hopes that everything would "crisp" up a bit (and it did - nicely!). It took exactly 4.5 min. to broil to perfection in my oven. I can't wait to try this with a bit of mozzarella or Italian-blend cheese melted on top, on thick slices of Texas Toast or for meatball sandwiches... yum, yum! My only suggestion for next time (and there will be one!) would be to mince rather than chop my garlic (personal preference), but I still think this is EXCELLENT as is!!! Thanks for sharing, Mela :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Overall very good. As the other reviews said I would definitley reduce or omit the salt and reduce the Oregano. Both were very overpowering. Even though I used unsalted butter it was way to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This is a great garlic bread. I used fresh sage as that's all I had on hand. I used salted butter and the full amount of salt called for and we did not think it was salty at all. Thx for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Yummy. I thought it was too salty, and I only used half of the amount of salt called for, and I used unsalted butter. But my guests thought it was great. But it was still really, really good. Everyone still ate it up. thanks for a great recipe. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hillarie Grider-Richards

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Agreed with all of the other reviews that it was GOOD, but too salty. I really liked the butter/mayo mixture, but will omit the salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States