Garlic Bread Fantastique Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Oh yes! Fantastico! This is delicious however I prefer my garlic bread with more of a pizza base. So this is what I am going to try next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Wonderful. I made exactly as written and it disappeared rapidly. Without doubt going to be a family favourite. Thankyou so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This flavor was really good. I did not have the french baguettes and I was looking for a recipe for Texas Toast that I had left over from breakfast. I decided to try this and I guess I used to much spread on 6 slices because it was kinda soggy, but my kids loved it and the flavor was excellent. It's a keeper. Later tried on french baguette and it worked out perfectly. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Haslett, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
What a great idea to add the mayo, it makes a difference. My family loved this and there were no left overs. I served it with Donna's Lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Delicious! I did not use nearly as much butter as the recipe called for...used about 3 T butter spread and 1 T Mayo, and I omitted the salt altogether because the butter added enough salt for me. I also mixed the parmesan cheese in with the spread, and then sprinkled mozzarella cheese on top. It was fantastic!! The mayo was really an awesome addition to traditional garlic bread recipes. I only gave 4 stars because I think that 1/2 cup of butter would have been way excessive, and the recipe really does not need any extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Very good. A bit too salty as others indicated. I will eliminate the salt next time since I use salted butter. Watch the bread carefully when it's under the broiler. I burned the first batch. I was glad I had another loaf of bread :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Venus
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
since it was just a dinner for two, I had to recalculate the ingredients ... took the base of the butter, garlic (minced) and mayo (hellmens).. used Italian seasoning instead of oregano/sage ... like the flavor of the mix better ... just personal preference. Tasted it, added some salt and pepper to my taste ... I also added some dried parsley ... buttered up some Italian sliced bread ... and BAM ... some of the best garlic bread I've had!!! Great idea with the mayo ... my mother worked in a dinner in the 50s, they used mayo alot in place of butter for grilled sandwhiches ... never put the two together! Thanks a Million!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorpark, California, USA
Living In: Ashland, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Yum. This is so great. Just be careful not to burn it. 4 minutes under my broiler was almost too much. It would be a shame to ruin such great bread! Caution: be sure your butter is soft enough so you can really blend all the ingredients well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiina Dygert Hazelett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
UPDATE: MADE AGAIN TONIGHT, BUT THIS TIME, I SLICED MY ITALIAN LOAF IN HALF AS DIRECTED, MINCED MY GARLIC AND SPRINKLED WITH SHREDDED MOZZA - EVEN BETTER THIS WAY!!! Pretty good (if I do say so myself!)!!! I had some French baugette leftover from Sun. night's dinner that needed using up, so I decided to give this a try. With a few modifications, I think this has potential to become my "tried & true" stand-by recipe for sure! The recipe I have been using for yrs. is pretty basic - butter, garlic, parsley and Parm mixed together. I like the fact that Mela's recipe is "kicked" up a notch. The mayo and sage are perfect (who knew?)! I did not find this to be salty at all, but I used unsalted butter, so that could be why (?). My only changes were slicing my baugette into med-thick slices as opposed to halving it lengthwise as directed (I wasn't paying attention when I cut my bread into slices!) and mixing the Parm cheese into my butter mixture. Oh, and I drizzled each slice with a bit of EVOO in hopes that everything would "crisp" up a bit (and it did - nicely!). It took exactly 4.5 min. to broil to perfection in my oven. I can't wait to try this with a bit of mozzarella or Italian-blend cheese melted on top, on thick slices of Texas Toast or for meatball sandwiches... yum, yum! My only suggestion for next time (and there will be one!) would be to mince rather than chop my garlic (personal preference), but I still think this is EXCELLENT as is!!! Thanks for sharing, Mela :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Overall very good. As the other reviews said I would definitley reduce or omit the salt and reduce the Oregano. Both were very overpowering. Even though I used unsalted butter it was way to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States