Garlic, Basil, and Bacon Deviled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
As this recipe's first reviewer I wish I could give it a better send-off. I considered the amount of basil suspect, reduced it by half, and it still was more than plenty. I know it would be basil overkill if the full amount were used, and might even totally obscure any egg taste at all. I found the raw garlic rather unpleasant as well as the occasional bite of the red pepper flakes. I think garlic powder and cayenne or a little hot sauce would be better substitutes. Also, for my tastes (or maybe the size of the eggs) I needed to add more mayonnaise. What I did love was the bacon! I think this recipe has a fine start and with some modification would be a first rate deviled egg recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Loved it I followed the recipe exact and these are very filling can be eaten as a meal, with some sauteed mushrooms as I tried and I recommend it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martini_13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
WONDERFUL! Cut the recipe in 1/2 and pretty much just eye-balled everything to taste. I used garlic powder in place of the fresh, because I thought that might be too much. We LOVED the flavor of these! What a great change from the traditional deviled eggs. These will definately be made VERY often~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
My family really enjoyed these deviled eggs. I did cut back on the garlic cloves, as that sounded like quite a bit. I think what they liked best was the fresh basil taste along with the addition of the crushed red pepper flakes. Very different from my usual eggs that are on the sweet side. Thanks Joe for your version of Deviled Eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
These were most delicious!! I only did 4 eggs for me and my husband to share and I eye balled the ingredients. I used garlic powder, basil from my garden, and the microwavable bacon(thats all I had:). They were a big hit! I will make them again for sure! Next time I'll make more eggs cause they were gone in a flash! Very Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I thought these were wonderful, but I did leave out the garlic and cut down on the basil. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Little less on the basil and a touch of mustard powder and pickle relish and its sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Yum! Really nice twist on deviled eggs. LOVE the basil in it; gives it a fresh flavor that deviled eggs are so often missing. I don't care for raw garlic so I subbed garlic powder. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I have made these twice now, and its now the Holiday dish I am required to bring!! I used less bacon the 1st time- and both were really good- Only use Fresh basil though. I tried the tube basil last time and it wasnt the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

A spicy change to regular deviled eggs.

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States