Garlic Basil Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Excellent receipie!!!!! I added 1/3 cup milk since I thought it was too thick without it. I also added Ground Red Cayenne Pepper for a little kick. It leaves a good after taste!! But I think that papirka would be just as good. Made this for my wife on Mother's Day! She loved it with meatloaf and turnip greens, which I also cooked for her on her day! I also drizzled butter over the top of them to accent the flavor, with pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Very good recipe! The flavor was very good. Not overpowering, just a yummy background. The only changes I made were to use fresh minced garlic rather than the powder, plus I added about 1/2 tsp. of horseradish. Since smooth, non-lumpy mashed potatoes are a sacrilege in our house, I combined the ingredients in a bowl, plopped them on top of the hot cooked potatoes and hand mashed. This one's going in my cookbook for regular rotation. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pennsauken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I followed the directions exactly. Everyone in my family seemed to like them - even the 1 year old who is usually not a fan of potatoes! Used Russet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I have made these twice now and they are amazing! I had my family over and these went quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I thought these were rather good and different from plain mashed potatoes. I did add a little liquid while mashing because I found them a little dry. They had great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I was very pleased! I added milk while mixing. I also added the kernels of four ears of fresh cooked corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
These are great! The basil really gives it a different flavor. I would never have thought to add it. I doubled the recipe and therefore doubled the all ingredients. I think the basil was a bit strong doubled so I will adjust to a little less basil next time. I also added a tad of light cream to fluff and lighten the potatoes. Will definitely do these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Delicious...highly recommended. Try using fresh basil to make them even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I love this recipe! I always make my mashed potatoes like this now. :) Sometimes add green onions. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States