Garlic Basil Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Different, but good - I wasn't sure about the basil at first but it worked well as a side dish for a more "Italian" based dinner that needed mashed potatoes to go with it. These were creamy and had a nice herbed flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Very good recipe! The flavor was very good. Not overpowering, just a yummy background. The only changes I made were to use fresh minced garlic rather than the powder, plus I added about 1/2 tsp. of horseradish. Since smooth, non-lumpy mashed potatoes are a sacrilege in our house, I combined the ingredients in a bowl, plopped them on top of the hot cooked potatoes and hand mashed. This one's going in my cookbook for regular rotation. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pennsauken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Excellent receipie!!!!! I added 1/3 cup milk since I thought it was too thick without it. I also added Ground Red Cayenne Pepper for a little kick. It leaves a good after taste!! But I think that papirka would be just as good. Made this for my wife on Mother's Day! She loved it with meatloaf and turnip greens, which I also cooked for her on her day! I also drizzled butter over the top of them to accent the flavor, with pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Except for the addition of the basil this is a more or less typical way of preparing mashed potatoes. The basil was an interesting addition, tasty but "safe" in that it didn't result in an extraordinary departure from your basic mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I liked the slightly unique taste of these mashed potatoes. I added some extra garlic and used seasoned salt. I also put in a few splashes of milk to make them more smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Delicious...highly recommended. Try using fresh basil to make them even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I have made these twice now and they are amazing! I had my family over and these went quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I followed the directions exactly. Everyone in my family seemed to like them - even the 1 year old who is usually not a fan of potatoes! Used Russet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This recipe is easy, practical, and delicious. No shopping for special, crazily expensive items you'll never use again. :-) Plus, everyone gobbles down garlic mashed potatoes. It's up there with deviled eggs, but of course the amounts of each ingredient have to be right to taste right. This recipe is a beautiful combination of delicious and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieMonster
Home Town: Olalla, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States