Garlic Baked Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Loved this. I had to reduce the cooking time so I heated the potatoes in the microwave for 4 mins on each side. Make sure you stick them with a fork to make some holes so they don't explode. Then I followed the rest of the recipe, adding pepper to the skin as well and baked for 25 mins. Topped with butter and sour cream. The skin was so cripsy I will make my baked potatoes like this from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mamaroneck, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This was "OK." It is what it is... a basic potato. There is nothing complex about it (and no recipe really exists for it). I can't actually believe I am rating a baked potato (haha!)!!! All aside, I liked the subtle garlicky taste, but my fiance didn't even notice it (too bad!). Made two potatoes for the sole purpose of serving (topped) with Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbecue (Zane Peters), melted co-jack cheese and sour cream. Other than that, my only change was to use garlic powder instead of garlic salt (garlic salt PLUS salt was too much IMHO). Oh, and I added my spices with the EVOO in my Zip-lock bag to make prep easier (as if it wasn't already!!!). Thanks for sharing Mama's Cooking 4_3 :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I wrapped these in foil, and they were moist, fluffy and delicious...Well worth the baking time...I won't microwave potatoes again! Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I think I would use foil next time. Very dry skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley
Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
The Best! My 8 year old son, never make regular baked potatoes again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I made these this past weekend. We loved them. Didn't have olive oil so used canola oil, was still wonderful. Thanks for a great recipe. Will be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This recipe is a great start, but I make a few additions. After cleaning and poking holes in the potato, by hand, I coat each potato with a generous amount of olive oil, salt, and garlic powder. I bake them for the first 10-15 min at 400 degrees and at 325 for the remainder of the hour, turning them once. They come out crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carpentersville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I loved baking the potato this way. But I did pierce the potato several times and then brush on the oil with the garlic powder and salt mixed in, I think the flavor went inside that way instead of just staying on the skin. I also baked them on foil and on a baking sheet to eliminate the drips and make it easier to handle. The extra potatoes I baked made great cubed and fried leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States