Garlic Baked Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I haven't done this in years, as I'm so used to doing them on the grill anymore - my husband really wanted that "old school" way of a baked potato from the oven tonight so I thought I'd indulge him. These are delicious - "crispy on the outside and soft on the inside". I didn't bother with the whole "bag thing" I just used my fingers to rub the potatoes with oil and used garlic powder and a bit of kosher salt. I pierced the potatoes a couple of times with a fork and wrapped them in foil - you really don't want a mess in your oven. These were soooo good -all that was needed was a little butter, salt, & pepper. Great classic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I was surprised that I seen a recipe for a baked potato. I have a favorite way I make them, but decided to give this a try. I normally just use salt and not garlic salt. I thought it might be too overpowering, but it actually gave the skin a nice flavor. I did half the recipe and followed the ingredients exactly. I did use my normal method of baking the potato though. I may try this again and follow that part of the recipe to, to see if it is any different. This went well with a steak for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah King Kornbrek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
OMG - what an easy thing that you can do to make a simple baked potato taste extraordinary! I will never make a baked potato without doing this fast-easy step EVER again! Who would have thought? Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I’ve baked many a potato but until now I’ve never oiled the skin first. Seasoning the outside with salt and pepper was something I’ve never done before either. As Hubs put it, this was a wonderful treatment of a baked potato. If you’re thinking it spices it up, it doesn’t. But it makes the peel of the potato deliciously flavorful and even kind of crispy. Don’t wrap your potatoes in foil before baking. And DO rub them with oil as in this recipe. A medium-sized potato (I pricked it with a fork a few times) was perfectly baked in one hour at 375 degrees. A baked potato never tasted so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
These were wonderful, but I changed the recipe, so only giving it 4 stars. I think 2 teaspoons of garlic salt would have been waaaaay too much! I used only 1/2 teaspoon garlic salt, 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder and about 1/8 teaspoon fresh ground pepper. I baked them, uncovered, in a stoneware dish for 1 hour, and they tasted great! My husband loved them! My new way to bake potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willard, New York, USA
Living In: Romulus, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Was looking for a way to make them the way I like without using grill. I usually microwave for about 15 min (poke holes first) then afterward rub butter or olive oil and garlic salt on, wrap in foil and place on bbq for 10 min. This works too if it rains like today!! :) If you are a big garlic fan like we are, the BEST topping is sour cream with crushed garlic...it so sooooooo good! Its up to how many cloves you crush, depending on your garlic preference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Socalistace

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riverside, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
my husband doesn't like potatoes and he realy enjoyed these. I like butter and sour cream but my hubby liked them plain. I think that part of butter or none is really a matter of opion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Loved this. I had to reduce the cooking time so I heated the potatoes in the microwave for 4 mins on each side. Make sure you stick them with a fork to make some holes so they don't explode. Then I followed the rest of the recipe, adding pepper to the skin as well and baked for 25 mins. Topped with butter and sour cream. The skin was so cripsy I will make my baked potatoes like this from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mamaroneck, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This was "OK." It is what it is... a basic potato. There is nothing complex about it (and no recipe really exists for it). I can't actually believe I am rating a baked potato (haha!)!!! All aside, I liked the subtle garlicky taste, but my fiance didn't even notice it (too bad!). Made two potatoes for the sole purpose of serving (topped) with Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbecue (Zane Peters), melted co-jack cheese and sour cream. Other than that, my only change was to use garlic powder instead of garlic salt (garlic salt PLUS salt was too much IMHO). Oh, and I added my spices with the EVOO in my Zip-lock bag to make prep easier (as if it wasn't already!!!). Thanks for sharing Mama's Cooking 4_3 :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I wrapped these in foil, and they were moist, fluffy and delicious...Well worth the baking time...I won't microwave potatoes again! Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States