Garlic Baked Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These were awesome!!! I poked the potatoes with a fork to seal in some flavor & wrapped them in foil, baked for a little oven an hour just until soft. Made some cheese sauce & bacon for the top...mmmmm! New way to make potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caiden's mommy
Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Really enjoyed these potatoes!! I made only two minor changes. 1. Cooked on a foil lined baking sheet. 2. Used my Misto to spray olive oil on the potatoes rather than using the baggie. I usually 'bake' my potatoes in the microwave. These were a million times better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
What a simple thing to add flavor to the potato. I did them in the micro and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I just coat the potato with olive oil spray Crisco Brand has the best taste) and sprinkle liberally with kosher salt, garlic power and pepper. Only way to make baked potatoes IMHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encampment, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Very tasty, I have been doing this for some time . I place the potatoes on a foil pie plate to bake . As well I push a poultry skewer through the potatoe length wise, this ensures the potatoe is cooked through as the skewer is metal and heats up. Enjoy baked potatoes always , now to head for the grocery store ...............
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Very easy and yummy way to make baked potatoes. I would definitely prick with a fork first to make some holes though. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I haven't done this in years, as I'm so used to doing them on the grill anymore - my husband really wanted that "old school" way of a baked potato from the oven tonight so I thought I'd indulge him. These are delicious - "crispy on the outside and soft on the inside". I didn't bother with the whole "bag thing" I just used my fingers to rub the potatoes with oil and used garlic powder and a bit of kosher salt. I pierced the potatoes a couple of times with a fork and wrapped them in foil - you really don't want a mess in your oven. These were soooo good -all that was needed was a little butter, salt, & pepper. Great classic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I was surprised that I seen a recipe for a baked potato. I have a favorite way I make them, but decided to give this a try. I normally just use salt and not garlic salt. I thought it might be too overpowering, but it actually gave the skin a nice flavor. I did half the recipe and followed the ingredients exactly. I did use my normal method of baking the potato though. I may try this again and follow that part of the recipe to, to see if it is any different. This went well with a steak for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
OMG - what an easy thing that you can do to make a simple baked potato taste extraordinary! I will never make a baked potato without doing this fast-easy step EVER again! Who would have thought? Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I’ve baked many a potato but until now I’ve never oiled the skin first. Seasoning the outside with salt and pepper was something I’ve never done before either. As Hubs put it, this was a wonderful treatment of a baked potato. If you’re thinking it spices it up, it doesn’t. But it makes the peel of the potato deliciously flavorful and even kind of crispy. Don’t wrap your potatoes in foil before baking. And DO rub them with oil as in this recipe. A medium-sized potato (I pricked it with a fork a few times) was perfectly baked in one hour at 375 degrees. A baked potato never tasted so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States