Garlic Baked Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
These were wonderful, but I changed the recipe, so only giving it 4 stars. I think 2 teaspoons of garlic salt would have been waaaaay too much! I used only 1/2 teaspoon garlic salt, 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder and about 1/8 teaspoon fresh ground pepper. I baked them, uncovered, in a stoneware dish for 1 hour, and they tasted great! My husband loved them! My new way to bake potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willard, New York, USA
Living In: Romulus, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Was looking for a way to make them the way I like without using grill. I usually microwave for about 15 min (poke holes first) then afterward rub butter or olive oil and garlic salt on, wrap in foil and place on bbq for 10 min. This works too if it rains like today!! :) If you are a big garlic fan like we are, the BEST topping is sour cream with crushed garlic...it so sooooooo good! Its up to how many cloves you crush, depending on your garlic preference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Socalistace

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riverside, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
my husband doesn't like potatoes and he realy enjoyed these. I like butter and sour cream but my hubby liked them plain. I think that part of butter or none is really a matter of opion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Loved this. I had to reduce the cooking time so I heated the potatoes in the microwave for 4 mins on each side. Make sure you stick them with a fork to make some holes so they don't explode. Then I followed the rest of the recipe, adding pepper to the skin as well and baked for 25 mins. Topped with butter and sour cream. The skin was so cripsy I will make my baked potatoes like this from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mamaroneck, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This was "OK." It is what it is... a basic potato. There is nothing complex about it (and no recipe really exists for it). I can't actually believe I am rating a baked potato (haha!)!!! All aside, I liked the subtle garlicky taste, but my fiance didn't even notice it (too bad!). Made two potatoes for the sole purpose of serving (topped) with Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbecue (Zane Peters), melted co-jack cheese and sour cream. Other than that, my only change was to use garlic powder instead of garlic salt (garlic salt PLUS salt was too much IMHO). Oh, and I added my spices with the EVOO in my Zip-lock bag to make prep easier (as if it wasn't already!!!). Thanks for sharing Mama's Cooking 4_3 :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I wrapped these in foil, and they were moist, fluffy and delicious...Well worth the baking time...I won't microwave potatoes again! Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I think I would use foil next time. Very dry skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley
Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
The Best! My 8 year old son, never make regular baked potatoes again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I made these this past weekend. We loved them. Didn't have olive oil so used canola oil, was still wonderful. Thanks for a great recipe. Will be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States