Garlic Baked Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I loved baking the potato this way. But I did pierce the potato several times and then brush on the oil with the garlic powder and salt mixed in, I think the flavor went inside that way instead of just staying on the skin. I also baked them on foil and on a baking sheet to eliminate the drips and make it easier to handle. The extra potatoes I baked made great cubed and fried leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I haven't done this in years, as I'm so used to doing them on the grill anymore - my husband really wanted that "old school" way of a baked potato from the oven tonight so I thought I'd indulge him. These are delicious - "crispy on the outside and soft on the inside". I didn't bother with the whole "bag thing" I just used my fingers to rub the potatoes with oil and used garlic powder and a bit of kosher salt. I pierced the potatoes a couple of times with a fork and wrapped them in foil - you really don't want a mess in your oven. These were soooo good -all that was needed was a little butter, salt, & pepper. Great classic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I’ve baked many a potato but until now I’ve never oiled the skin first. Seasoning the outside with salt and pepper was something I’ve never done before either. As Hubs put it, this was a wonderful treatment of a baked potato. If you’re thinking it spices it up, it doesn’t. But it makes the peel of the potato deliciously flavorful and even kind of crispy. Don’t wrap your potatoes in foil before baking. And DO rub them with oil as in this recipe. A medium-sized potato (I pricked it with a fork a few times) was perfectly baked in one hour at 375 degrees. A baked potato never tasted so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I liked the skin on this potato. But The outside was a bit drier than I would have liked. I still felt the inside needed a little butter but the potato was nice and soft. I think if I were to do these again I would try maybe doing as directed but them wrapping in foil. Then when the potatoes are done you could unwrap cut in half and drizzle any remaining olive oil and seasonings left over in the foil packet over the top. Yum! Great starting point for flavorful baked potatoes though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearney, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
verry good. I did this with my cubed potatoes then roasted them in the oven...my whole family loved them...Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
I made these potatoes for dinner today to go with the Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon (also found on allrecipes.com). I usually in a hurry so I just microwave my potatoes but the skins are never crisp or all that appetizing so I wanted to give this recipe a try. I baked my potatoes a little slower at 300 degrees for two hours or so. I didn’t measure anything. I just oiled the potatoes and then sprinkled the seasonings on to my preference. They turned out very well. We topped them with butter, sour cream and pepper. There was nothing left on our plates and my husband usually isn’t a potato skin eater. Thanks for a recipe I will use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesapeake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
awesome-used sweet potatos instead and came out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
I liked this recipe a lot. It was a great change a pace from plan baked potatoes. It was so good and so easy I can believe that I hadn't thought of it myself. I think I my even try it again with a mixture of different spices and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Really enjoyed these potatoes!! I made only two minor changes. 1. Cooked on a foil lined baking sheet. 2. Used my Misto to spray olive oil on the potatoes rather than using the baggie. I usually 'bake' my potatoes in the microwave. These were a million times better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This was okay for me. The potatoe was fluffy and good, but i still needed butter and sour cream. Plus, my favorite part is eating the skin when I'm done, and the seasoning made the skin way too salty. I'm not too excited to make it this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rianppg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States