Garlic Asparagus with Lime Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Other than using lemon rather than lime, this is a combination of ingredients and flavors I grew up with as a standard with many fresh vegetables. It was the pan sauteeing, however, that made me want to try this and I was very pleased. I've steamed asparagus, roasted it in the oven, and even nuked it...all good, but doing it this way just made it different -- similar to roasting, rich in color, flavor, and almost caramelized. Definitely more depth of flavor than just steaming. This method will be a repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
Just like the pan-fried asparagus recipe on this site except for the addition of lime juice. I didn't have shallots, so I used chopped onion. The asparagus was still quite crunchy after 5 minutes of cooking time, so I recommend cooking it a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
absolutely delicious! I'm watching my weight, so I only used 1/2tbs butter plus 1 and1/2tsp olive oil(not canola)and didn't have lime so used lemon juice. I shall use a large skillet like recommended, as the med. one I used was not large enough for the asparagus spears to touch the bottom of pan and thus my garlic and shallots burned a bit. I ended up cutting the spears in half while still cooking in pan, but the onion/shallots had already burned! nonetheless, it was still a tasty side! loved it and will cook it many times in the future.Oh, I love garlic so I added a couple more cloves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This was a nice new way to prepare asparagus. It's the perfect time of year and we picked up the most wonderful thin baby stalks that cooked quite nicely. If they were thicker I would have steamed them briefly in the microwave to get the cooking started, but it wasn't necessary the night I prepared them. They were the perfect accompaniament to thinly sliced flank steak with a rub made from chili/lime/brown sugar and paprika and the orange romaine salad from this site. A perfect spring meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneSweetShannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I really liked this. I didn't have shallots so I used red onion. Easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
Actually I wanted to update my previous rating. This is unique and delicious. Warmed it up the following day and it was mmm mmm good, so I am moving my rating up to a 5 Star. Absolutely will keep in my recipe file and make many more times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Followed recipe in proportions. Each line of flavor complete. Asparagus loves this recipe. You will too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Another quick and easy way to prepare asparagus. I used fresh minced garlic and cut the asparagus into 2" pieces. Cooked for 8 minutes but that might have been a little too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Asparagus is not my favorite; however, this recipe is delicious! I have tried many similiar recipies, but the flavors and method of this recipe is simply delicious! The only changes I made were to use a little less butter & olive oil and lemon instead of lime. A keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This recipe is simple and extremely tasty. I added a handful of mini bell pepper rings in different colors and it was fascinating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sautéed Garlic Asparagus

This simple method really highlights the flavor of the asparagus.

Pan-Fried Asparagus

A simple asparagus side dish with garlic, olive oil, and butter.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States