Garlic Anchovy Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Will make again, quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
First time I ever cook anything with anchovies in it. I was pleasently surprised by the simplicity of the recipe and the flavors in it. Very good. Not bland at all. The saltiness of the anchovies it's all this dish needs. I only used 4oz (instead of 6oz) because I was afraid of overpowering the dish with the anchovies flavor but that wasn't the case. I think 6oz would be just fine as well. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This was pretty good! I wanted to make this more veggie than pasta, so for three servings I used 4 oz. of spaghetti, halved the olive oil and used only 2 oz. of anchovies, which was plenty for our tastes. I doubled the broccoli and tomatoes and added some chopped fresh basil that I needed to use up, and also subbed homemade vegetable stock for the water. The sauce was tasty, but it was a little thin for me - almost broth-like. I wanted to add a pat of butter to "finish" it, but didn't this time. Still, I enjoyed this! Thanks, Rachel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
good, but after tasting it while cooking I added about twice the tomato, as well as a little more of the other veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Pretty good, but I think I would need to add some more fish to it so I can feel full... I need meat! However, if you don't eat a lot of meat, this is a great dish for you with a bold flavor. I would give it one more star if it were hardier, but based on flavor, it's outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrissyCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe and figured I would because I love anchovies! I used the amount called for and I didn't think it was too pungent, this dish really has wonderful flavor. I didn't measure the veggies, but I doubled them, maybe even tripled them. As written, I don't think that's enough for a pound of pasta, at least not for us. Also, I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes and instead of adding the water, I used the juice from them, which was great. Be sure not to cover this at the end while simmering, because it was way too soup-y and thin. Simmer uncovered for 5-10 minutes so it reduces. With a few changes, this recipe is really great, and I highly recommend this to anchovy lovers! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Very good but I did mine a little different. I only used 3 oz of the anchovy fillets. A little does go a long way. Use more if you like but I think 6 oz is very overwhelming for this recipe. I added 2 cups (instead of 3/4) of the broccoli florets and only 1 tablespoon (instead of 1 1/2) of the red pepper flakes. I also added 1 cup (instead of 1/2) of diced tomatos and 1 cup of heavy cream. The heavy cream softened the taste of the anchovies and gave the sauce more depth. And it was excellent to soak up with garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Turned out good so would give a 4.5 if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
So good! For just me and my husband, I cut the pasta way back, but make the sauce as called for with 6 servings. It's delicious! In place of the water, I use a half cup of white wine and half a cup of chicken broth. I also cut back on the crushed red pepper just a wee bit. If you don't use all the pasta, that spice goes a long way, and we love spice! I can't wait to make this again. Don't forget to serve this with garlic bread. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Very tasty dish. We ALL loved it. I substituted 1/2 cup white wine and 1/2 cup chicken broth. I also recommend not covering while cooking because it came out very runny. Once it sat for a while, the juices got absorbed and it was much better than our first helping. And last, if you don't like anchovies, don't worry, they totally disappear with all the cooking. But they leave a wonderful taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States