Garlic Anchovy Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Citrus Punch
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I should start out by confessing that I'm no fan of anchovies. I don't know what persuaded me to try this recipe but I am so glad I did. The anchovies kind of dissolve into the veggie mix- you don't even know they're there (especially if, like me, you only use 4 oz. of anchovies instead of six). I did cut the red pepper down to one tablespoon and it was plenty spicy but not burn your mouth off. Also, I recommend doubling up on the veggies because the first time I made this, it felt a little scant- doubling made sure we had a hearty bite every time. Also, any old noodle works well in this. Thank you so much Rachel, for a dish that tastes like it came from a restaurant and takes very little time or energy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe and figured I would because I love anchovies! I used the amount called for and I didn't think it was too pungent, this dish really has wonderful flavor. I didn't measure the veggies, but I doubled them, maybe even tripled them. As written, I don't think that's enough for a pound of pasta, at least not for us. Also, I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes and instead of adding the water, I used the juice from them, which was great. Be sure not to cover this at the end while simmering, because it was way too soup-y and thin. Simmer uncovered for 5-10 minutes so it reduces. With a few changes, this recipe is really great, and I highly recommend this to anchovy lovers! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Mmmm, so simple and so delicious! Don't be afraid of the anchovies. They melt into the sauce just leaving their delicious flavor behind. Thanks for the recipe, I will make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
First time I ever cook anything with anchovies in it. I was pleasently surprised by the simplicity of the recipe and the flavors in it. Very good. Not bland at all. The saltiness of the anchovies it's all this dish needs. I only used 4oz (instead of 6oz) because I was afraid of overpowering the dish with the anchovies flavor but that wasn't the case. I think 6oz would be just fine as well. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I made this for my husband and he literally gobbled it down! I actually liked it; although I don't care for anchovies. The garlic made the whole thing come together very nicely. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIDANFREY
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I've never had anchovies before, so this dish was a pleasant surprise for me. Personally, I prefer a much chunkier pasta dish, and so the next time around I might be willing to either double everything else or halve the amount of pasta. Trying this with another type of pasta (penne or bowties) might also be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This was pretty good! I wanted to make this more veggie than pasta, so for three servings I used 4 oz. of spaghetti, halved the olive oil and used only 2 oz. of anchovies, which was plenty for our tastes. I doubled the broccoli and tomatoes and added some chopped fresh basil that I needed to use up, and also subbed homemade vegetable stock for the water. The sauce was tasty, but it was a little thin for me - almost broth-like. I wanted to add a pat of butter to "finish" it, but didn't this time. Still, I enjoyed this! Thanks, Rachel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Simple ingredients, easy to make, and a real crowd pleaser. We loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Will make again, quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Turned out good so would give a 4.5 if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States