Garlic Anchovy Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Very tasty dish. We ALL loved it. I substituted 1/2 cup white wine and 1/2 cup chicken broth. I also recommend not covering while cooking because it came out very runny. Once it sat for a while, the juices got absorbed and it was much better than our first helping. And last, if you don't like anchovies, don't worry, they totally disappear with all the cooking. But they leave a wonderful taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Citrus Punch
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I should start out by confessing that I'm no fan of anchovies. I don't know what persuaded me to try this recipe but I am so glad I did. The anchovies kind of dissolve into the veggie mix- you don't even know they're there (especially if, like me, you only use 4 oz. of anchovies instead of six). I did cut the red pepper down to one tablespoon and it was plenty spicy but not burn your mouth off. Also, I recommend doubling up on the veggies because the first time I made this, it felt a little scant- doubling made sure we had a hearty bite every time. Also, any old noodle works well in this. Thank you so much Rachel, for a dish that tastes like it came from a restaurant and takes very little time or energy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Love all the veggies, but I found that it needed more seasoning. Also, for garlic to be in the heading of the recipe, I thought it should have had more of a punch. This could be personal preference as in my family tradition growing up Italian, it is one of the food groups. I'll modify and try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I've never had anchovies before, so this dish was a pleasant surprise for me. Personally, I prefer a much chunkier pasta dish, and so the next time around I might be willing to either double everything else or halve the amount of pasta. Trying this with another type of pasta (penne or bowties) might also be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Mmmm, so simple and so delicious! Don't be afraid of the anchovies. They melt into the sauce just leaving their delicious flavor behind. Thanks for the recipe, I will make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Simple ingredients, easy to make, and a real crowd pleaser. We loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I made this for my husband and he literally gobbled it down! I actually liked it; although I don't care for anchovies. The garlic made the whole thing come together very nicely. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIDANFREY
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This was great. Only change I made was I added a chicken bouillon cube to the water. Other than that, exactly like written and it was wonderful. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States