Garithes Yiouvetsi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Pretty good - but lacking a bit of flavor. Added a few greek olives to try and zip it up a bit, but still a little bland. I make something similar to this with chicken or a mild white fish like cod, and I think I prefer that to the shrimp. They got a little lost in all the tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Excellent Recipe. You must follow the directions, you can't use dried herbs, you have to include all what seems to be an incredible amount of onions (scallions). If using fresh tomatoes you have to cook them down otherwise too soupy as others have mentioned. The sauce needs to be thick, really sticking to the spoon. Remembering you are putting in raw shrimp that will exude juice. I found worked for quick fix is Hunts diced tomatoes in sauce. Great recipe if made right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Amazing! I added a little extra wine to give the sauce more liquid, but I don't think I needed to do that. I also doubled the garlic, used reduced fat feta, and used dried oregano. This was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Wonderful meal. Didn't have onions so we omitted those and added some onion powder. Served with tri color rotini pasta. It was a meal that I would be happy with should I order it in a restaurant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Going to give 3 stars based on what was left in the dish. I don't eat shrimp, but our guests did. The sauce was perfect and full of flavor, but was told did not pair well with the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
This recipe is amazing!! I used the canned tomatoes with the italian seasonings along with the fresh chopped roma tomatoes. Served with angel hair pasta and garlic toast and salad. Soooo good we had it twice in one week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CALICOOKIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
A keeper. Used grape tomatoes. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I made a few substitutions based on what I had available...fire-roasted can tomatoes, sub fresh rosemary for the parsley and oregano, added Greeek Seasoning. Once the sauce was reduced to my liking I added the shrimp and cooked until pink, sprinkled feta overtop and broiled until the cheese was creamy. Yummy. Served with Rigatoni with Lemon Pasta Sauce (AR). We really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
good, easy ingredients on hand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Simple recipe that was okay. It was much better the 2nd day once the flavors blended in together. Served with lemon pasta recipe found on this site. Perhaps some black kalamata olives would enhance this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Easiest Corn on the Cob

Discover the easiest, fastest way to make perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States