Garithes Yiouvetsi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
I'm just calling this recipe feta shrimp. I used chopped fresh tomatoes without peeling them & I think it tasted fine. I guess you could use diced canned tomatoes instead as well. I reduced the temperature to 400 degrees as I used cooked shrimp instead of the uncooked shrimp. If you do this, you may want to experiment with the temperature & cooking time as you want to make sure not to cook the dish too long. You want to heat up the shrimp but not have them rubbery. I also left out the oregano as my husband isn't a big fan. Next time, I think I'll try a flavored feta (garlic/herb or tomato/basil) for a little more of a flavor punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
This was really easy...and excellent. I would recommend it to anyone...I may add some hot sauce the next time. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
This was actually not so time consuming at all! In fact, it was done quicker than we were ready to eat! I made some angel hair pasta to go with it and it was *very* tasty and delicious. I may even make this for company!! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Linz, Oberösterreich, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
Well...it wasnt much to "rave" over and seem to have that something missing from it. Thank you for the recipe post; it was a dinner fix but I will keep my eye out for another. My shrimp was already cooked so the oven temp was set at 400 and I left the dish in long enough to heat through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
This was soooo delicious! I used fresh, unpeeled tomatoes also and they were just fine. I also used only one pound of shrimp and it was a good thing because there was just enough "sauce" to cover them. When I made the "sauce", it was more like a chunky salsa ... but absolutely delicious. I will be making this again ... soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunland, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I'd have to give this 3 1/2 stars...hubby liked it but my kids didn't like the wine sauce. I used garden fresh tomatoes, a mix of wine and chicken broth. I only had cooked shrimp, so I just put in the last three minutes of cooking on the stove and did not cook in the oven. Put the feta cheese on before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Simple recipe that was okay. It was much better the 2nd day once the flavors blended in together. Served with lemon pasta recipe found on this site. Perhaps some black kalamata olives would enhance this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I loved this recipe. I made it using reduced fat feta and chicken broth instead of wine. I also used half the shrimp since I was cooking for just two people. I served it with a salad made from feta, a seeded cucumber, halved grape tomatoes, red onions, lemon juice and fresh pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
If I could give this 8 stars I would.....Everyone loved this dish, and it was all gone within 5 mins at our wine and cheese party.!!..Even the greek people thought it was so good!...Gotta try this for sure. Angela - canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AHIMMERODER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Victoria Harbour, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Wonderful meal. Didn't have onions so we omitted those and added some onion powder. Served with tri color rotini pasta. It was a meal that I would be happy with should I order it in a restaurant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States