Garithes Yiouvetsi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Great Greek dish. Since people said the dish lacked something, I added some fresh rosemary and basil. I also added a 6 oz. can of tomato sauce because I didn't think the tomatoes were enough. (I also halved the recipe since its just me and the hubs.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I peeled the tomatoes (I let them sit in a bowl of boiling water for a few mins, then removed the skins), and I omitted the parsley as we don't like it. I added the thawed raw shrimp to the tomato/onion mix, let the shrimp cook through, then spread everything into a glass baking dish, topped it with crumbled feta, then broiled for a few minutes so the feta was melty. It turned out really good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I used one can drained tomatoes instead of fresh because I am a beginner and not proficient with a knife. The meal was wonderful and I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This was delicious and very easy to make! I used cherry tomatoes (about 1 1/2 pints and cut in half) and fresh mint leaves instead of parsley to bring out the sweetness of the tomatoes. I used frozen shrimp but next time I'll definitely use fresh. The sauce would be awesome on chicken as well! I'm definitely going to make this again; thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
The flavor wasn't bad, but this wasn't for us. Fortunately, I didn't put the full two pounds of shrimp in, because then it would have been an expensive tragedy. However, because I only put in 1 lb. of shrimp, it was more like an oily soup. If someone wants to try this recipe, I have a couple of recommendations. 1) Halve the recipe--unless you are feeding a decent sized family (5+) you don't need all of it, and it doesn't reheat very well. 2) Don't use frozen shrimp, make sure that your shrimp is thawed because otherwise it oozes more liquid into the "sauce", and then you have soup. 3) I would definitely make sure your tomatoes are seeded and that all of the "goo" you can get out of them is gone--probably even wipe them with a towel, just to be sure, and AVOID CANNED TOMATOES!! Because, again, you don't want a funky soup. Thanks anyway MaryannG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Nice and easy. We love shrimp and we love greek food so this fit the bill. I like the other reviewer will add more feta next time. Was delicious over garlicky buttered orzo. Will keep this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I'd have to give this 3 1/2 stars...hubby liked it but my kids didn't like the wine sauce. I used garden fresh tomatoes, a mix of wine and chicken broth. I only had cooked shrimp, so I just put in the last three minutes of cooking on the stove and did not cook in the oven. Put the feta cheese on before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I loved this recipe. I made it using reduced fat feta and chicken broth instead of wine. I also used half the shrimp since I was cooking for just two people. I served it with a salad made from feta, a seeded cucumber, halved grape tomatoes, red onions, lemon juice and fresh pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Eh, nothing to rave about. The dish was watery, lacking any real flavor and didn't impress anyone. It was edible, but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I have made this recipe several times and every time we all love it! I took the advice of others and doubled the sauce, but other than that I haven't changed a thing. I have substituted dried oregano and parsley in the past, but I wouldn't recommend it as the best flavors come out if you use fresh herbs for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States