Garden Veggie Pizza Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
These were really good, though I'd recommend a few things prep-wise...1-Make sure to pat the crust down with a spatula half way through baking or your crust will not be flat and will have big bubbles in it. 2-Don't roll it out too big or your cream cheese spread will not be thick enough to give pieces enough flavor (or just make another half batch of the spread...I did a jelly roll pan and the original amount spread super thin) and 3-Dice the veggies super small (pea size) and press them down into the cream cheese a bit, so they don't all fall off when serving. 4-I agree with many reviewers not to assemble the pizza until about an hour before so it doesn't get soggy. I just diced all the veggies ahead of time so they were ready to throw on when time to put it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RecipeAddict

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I needed a last-minute appetizer for a party, and I've always liked these when other people have made them. I followed the recipe exactly, except for two slight changes: 1. Whipped cream cheese instead of regular cream cheese. Same taste, but much easier to mix and spread. 2. I went easy on the ranch dressing mix (less than 1/2 packet)...these taste great even without it, and I think it's easy to overwhelm the whole dish with too much ranch. Very easy to make...I made the entire thing up and put it in the fridge the night before I served it, and had no problem. Everything stayed crisp and fresh, and they were a big hit...will definitely keep this as a go-to appetizer for parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
easy to put together and full of veggies. I had this at a pampered chef party and glad I found the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This makes about 8 single serving sized squares if you want them as more of a main lunch item. I used fat free cream cheese (about 3/4 of the pack). After cooking the crescents I put them in the fridge to speed up cooling. I also put the cream cheese in the microwave for 15 seconds and had no problem mixing. I spread it lightly on the crescent. I made sure to drain the vegies on a papertowel to prevent sogginess. I also added cheddar cheese shreds on top instead of carrots. I cooled them for about 45 mins and they were AMAZING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I loved this recipe! I would definitely double the recipe if you are serving a large group. It is a perfect summer appetizer. I added celery which was delicious but other than that I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I love this recipe. I used the crescent sheets. less work and the price is about the same, good quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Westfall

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This is a great semi-healthy appetizer for a party. It looks pretty with all of the colorful veggies. I do cauliflower, broccoli, orange or yellow bell pepper and red and green onions. A nice low fat variation is adding 4 oz. of sour cream in place of the cream cheese, low fat, of course. Thanks for a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Either I failed this recipe or it failed me. Expensive ingredients, picky to prepare, crumbs/bits of veggie everywhere to clean up. It tasted good but the crescent dough broke easily when I tried cutting into squares. To follow reviewers' suggestions to use 2 pkgs of crescent rolls would, in my opinion, make it too expensive. Won't make these again; I'll enjoy someone else's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
SO GOOD! I used 2 8 oz packages of cresent rolls as my Mom suggested and it worked a lot easier. She also suggested adding about a 1/2 cup of mayo to the cream cheese to give it a more creamier consistancy. I used a whole 1 oz package of Ranch also. Tasted great. I've made this probably 5 times and use broccoli, cauliflower, green onions, and shredded cheddar cheese on top. If I could give this 10 stars, I woudl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.blanke

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This recipe worked well for a quick appetizer that both kids & parents liked at a potluck I attended. It disappeared quickly, so I guess it was a hit! I followed the recipe to the letter, excepted I substitutes reduced fat crescent rolls & cream cheese. To make the cream cheese more spreadable, I just let it sit out at room temperature for an hour or so. The ranch dressing was a nice addition, added a lot of flavor, and like everyone else said, make sure you only add half, that was plenty. I was worried that the squares would be soggy, but they turned out great. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Clinton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cary, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 527) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Veggie Pizza Squares

Baked crescent roll dough is topped with cream cheese and crunchy vegetables.

Veggie and Sausage Skillet Pizza

See how to make a delicious deep-dish style pizza in a skillet.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States