Garden Veggie Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jennbo
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I was scared of this recipe, but it was actually pretty good. I wouldn't leave out the sherry like so many other reviewers are; it was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly. The only thing I didn't like the diced celery or chopped carrots, and it was more of a texture issue - I don't like crunchy soups! But the taste was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennbo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Family rated from a 3.5 to a millimeter below a 5. Needed more cheese, too much cheese, not spicy enough... next time I'll have some grated cheese on the side and maybe add an additional vegetable like peppers, which might give it the extra zest it needed. Definitely needed black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Really good soup! i changed it a bit due to ingredients on hand. i started by halving the recipe, using broccoli, chopped carrots and cubed ham.(also cut up fresh onion and garlic) i used 3 chicken bullion cubes in 2cups of water. added one can of cheese soup and 1/2 c of milk. skipped the sherry. i used 1/6 c corn starch to 1/4c water. also added a sprinkling of real sharp cheese at the end. made with a loaf of homemade bread...DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Parks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
My family isn' t all that fond of cauliflower and they liked this. Only real change is to cut the butter in half...really don't need that much fat. I was afraid to put 1 TB of garlic in at first....that is an awful lot...so tried half first and didn't taste it much and put the other half in. I did it in the crock pot and just put the dairy items (milk, cheeses and corn starch water) in at the very end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Yummy! I halved the recipe and subsituted frozen chopped onions rather than onion powder. I will use fresh garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This was a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Fantastic soup- I imagine you could use any veggies, we had a plethora of green beans so only used them and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a4bz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I made this as written, with two exceptions - I didn't have any nutmeg or onion powder, so I left those out. Oh, and I used less butter than called for. Anyway, the soup was fantastic! Nice, thick, smooth texture. I used a bag of frozen California Blend veggies - broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots - and included the sliced celery also. I loved this and plan to make it many more times. I also froze about 1 and 1/2 portions, so we'll see how well it freezes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Okay but not a keeper. There was not a lot of flavor and the texture was a little gritty. Not sure if it would improve the recipe to use flour versus cornstarch, or shredded cheddar cheese versus processed cheese. Don't care to try this again to find out, but perhaps someone else might benefit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Surprisingly good...made 1/2 a batch. Used real onion, didn't have onion pwder, chopped (1/3c). Doubled the carrot & omiitted the sherry, didn't have any. I think the cornstarch ration was a little too much b/c it make it took away from the chz taste a little, so i added another ounce of cheese. I'll see how it is tates on day two. Day two: Made white rice and added to the soup. I think its even better like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BasiaBoop

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Homer Glen, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States