Garden Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I love this recipe but did have to make a few adjustments for our picky eaters and personl taste. I went with the recipe the first time I made this and discovered that we did not care for the taste that the peppers gave. So the second time I made it I left them and added extra zucchini and squash. I also did not add the onions but used onion powder. Again, because of personal preference/picky eaters. The zucchini and squash really take in the flavor of the garlic when you are cooking it in the olive oil, so don't skip that part! We used a home made pasta sauce recipe instead of the chuncky sauce (not a fan). Whats great is that its so easy to make a second batch to freeze for later! Good stuff, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Very good! I only cooked my sauce for about ten minutes because I like my veggies a little underdone, otherwise made as written. This is a great, easy, lighter alternative to lasagna or baked ziti. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Amazing. I added oregano. My husband always wants to know where the meat is when I make something like this. He said that he could eat this everyday and didn't even miss the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This is AMAZING! I'm a vegetarian and I've made this for my non-vegetarian family members before, and they LOVED IT!!! Sometimes I use whole wheat penne, I usually omit the red onion or substitute Sweet Vidalia onion, I use diced tomatoes with green chilis in them to spice it up a bit (or sometimes I omit the tomatoes altogether), and I top it off with thinly sliced Munster cheese instead of shredded mozzarella. VERY GOOD!!! Sometimes I make a "meaty version" for my family, by adding either 1 pound cooked ground beef or 2 boiled and diced boneless skinless chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiLGarnsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Gay, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericktown, Ohio, USA
Photo by chdebnam
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This was soooooo good. I am very pleased with the way it came out. I'm always looking for ways to use my zucchini as a main dish instead of a side. Only thing I did differently is left out the red peppers and corn(I didn't have any on hand) and added more onion. I also seasoned the veggies with adobe and seasoned salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chdebnam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Really good way to use up some of those garden vegetables. I used a can of rotel instead of plain diced tomatoes. Just a tad spicy. Next time I'll try just the regular. Good flavor, easy to make, easy to sub in other vegetables and spices too! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Excellent recipe with lots of variations possible. We excluded the peppers, added some fresh sliced mushrooms and chopped kale. I added 1up of low fat ricotta & 1/3 cup parmesan cheese to the mixture when blending it all together prior to baking. You can reduce the mozzarella topping if you want a trade off. What is particularly nice is that this freezes well. We freeze leftovers in individual portion sizes with our Food Saver. Just defrost & reheat in the microwave or a warm oven - it'll save you $$ on fast food alternatives for those nights you're too tired for kitchen wizardry. This dish seems to just get better over time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This is my new favorite recipe on here! DELISH! My yellow squash ended up being bad so I just doubled the zucchini & used stewed tomatoes for the canned tomatoes. Unbelievably good! I'm planning to make Italian meatloaf I to go w/this tonight but it stands out as a great main dish on it's own! It definately makes more than 6 servings-you can easily feed twice that many!Thank you chicklet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Very good and very easy. Reheats well in the microwave and even tastes better the second time around. A great way to use up those summer squashes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Excellent way to get some veggies in my little brother's diet. I used whole wheat pasta and added more garlic and zucchini (didn't have yellow squash). Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States