Garden Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by zulisha
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Absolutely love this recipe. Made this while on Lent when my family gave up red meat. I was struggling trying to figure out what to cook, when I found this Jem of a recipe. Everything was perfect. These measurement make a lot of food so if its only two of you, you might want to half the recipe. Absolutely in love with this recipe. Thank you to the recipe poster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zulisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I cut this recipe in half and it still made a ton, enough to have easily filled a 9 x 13 pan. It was good, but a little bland and needed something extra for flavor. Kind of hard to rate this because the overall flavor is going to vary from one brand of pasta sauce to the next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Excellent recipe with lots of variations possible. We excluded the peppers, added some fresh sliced mushrooms and chopped kale. I added 1up of low fat ricotta & 1/3 cup parmesan cheese to the mixture when blending it all together prior to baking. You can reduce the mozzarella topping if you want a trade off. What is particularly nice is that this freezes well. We freeze leftovers in individual portion sizes with our Food Saver. Just defrost & reheat in the microwave or a warm oven - it'll save you $$ on fast food alternatives for those nights you're too tired for kitchen wizardry. This dish seems to just get better over time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Really good way to use up some of those garden vegetables. I used a can of rotel instead of plain diced tomatoes. Just a tad spicy. Next time I'll try just the regular. Good flavor, easy to make, easy to sub in other vegetables and spices too! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Very nice, even my husband was saying it was tasty. I used butternut squash for the squash and left out the red pepper as I didn't have any. Only thing different I did was to blend most of the sauce to a smooth consistency so my veg phobic 4yr old wouldn't turn up his nose. In the end he ate a whole bowl full. Nice way to use up garden veggies. Will try again in a few months time when my youngest is ready for solids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This is very good, but makes much more than what my 9x13 baking dish would hold. The recipe says that it serves 6, but I think it would serve 10-12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
This is a very hearty meatless dinner. I added two carrots sliced and used yellow onion instead of red. I only used half a package of small shell pasta and half each of a large zucchini and yellow squash, half a can of corn and a 26 oz jar of pasta sauce, I left out the can of diced tomatoes and the crushed red pepper flakes. I scaled it down so there wouldn't be too many leftovers. Turned out great and my boyfried really liked this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Looking for more recipes to use up squash from the garden brought me to this recipe. Even my son, who isn't fond of squash, enjoyed this dish. Delicious! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This is AMAZING! I'm a vegetarian and I've made this for my non-vegetarian family members before, and they LOVED IT!!! Sometimes I use whole wheat penne, I usually omit the red onion or substitute Sweet Vidalia onion, I use diced tomatoes with green chilis in them to spice it up a bit (or sometimes I omit the tomatoes altogether), and I top it off with thinly sliced Munster cheese instead of shredded mozzarella. VERY GOOD!!! Sometimes I make a "meaty version" for my family, by adding either 1 pound cooked ground beef or 2 boiled and diced boneless skinless chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiLGarnsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Gay, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericktown, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States