Garden Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I actually made penne with meat sauce earlier in the week. Then applied this recipe with the leftovers. It was a fantastic way to use up some of our garden veggies and eat leftovers without feeling like we HAD to. I even have enough left over to freeze for a few lunches in the future. I will definitly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Easy and a great way to get some extra veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jalbee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I was so skeptical about this "casserole" my family HATES casseroles. However, I have an abundance of garden produce right now and took a chance. It was fabulous. I used Barilla spicy marinara and pretty much followed the recipe exactly. Only adding some fresh cut basil, fresh corn and two large tomatoes instead of canned. I added some fresh parmesean to the mozzarella. Season the veggies with some garlic salt and cook them until they look a little golden. This made it excellent!!!!!! Even the family loved it! We loved the spiciness of the red pepper and marinara. ALSO a lot of people comment on the volume of this recipe use SMALL zucchini, HALVE the recipe and it makes enough for 8 as a SIDE dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This was very good and easy to make (I don't like to cook and don't do it well but this was even easy enough for me!) Everyone in the family loved it, I used bowtie pasta for the little one added Italian Sausage for the bf. Like other reviewers said it makes ALOT. We will have leftovers for at least 2 more meals, so maybe cut the recipe in half if you aren't into leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Just tried this recipe; didn't like the corn in it, and added two cloves crushed garlic, which made it taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Very good. I agree with several reviewers, to use fresh from the garden veggies and only revert to the canned in winter. I didn't feel the need to add corn anyway with the starch of the pasta so left it out. I did add 1 pound Italian pork sausage, (crumbled and browned) and that added a tasty bonus. Next time I will increase the cheese to 3 cups, and put half in the middle and save the other half for the top. A full recipe fit my CorningWare oversize casserole (12.25" x 10.50" x 2.5") perfectly, and would easily serve 16 people "normal" size servings, and for a pot luck would serve 24 smaller servings. I went easy on the red pepper and cut the final simmer time to 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gadgetgal

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I didn't find this "easy" as other reviewers said. It is LOTS of volume and took LOTS of bowls and pans. Then, it was bland. I used fresh tomatoes but that was the only change I made. I added one fresh hot pepper from the garden to spice it up, but it wasn't enough. Needs salt and/or parmesan for starters and something spicy. Rotel next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I make pasta similar to this quite frequently. Use fresh vegis for the best flavor, for sure. Tonight I used garlic, onion, grated zucchini and crookneck squash from our garden and added some store bought onion and garlic pasta sauce. I also made this like a mock lasagne with elbow mac instead of penne and some ricotta mixed with an egg, some garlic, salt, pepper, parm and mozzerella cheeses, and chopped parsley. I layered some sauce, the pasta (undercooked about 3 minutes), the ricotta mix, some chedder and mozzerella and topped with the rest of the sauce, some olives and more cheese. It was awesome. Grate the squashes and the picky kids who gag on it will eat and never know it was there. This is a very customizable recipe, so make it with whatever you have and enjoy. As long as the pasta is well undercooked, you can make the full giant recipe, but put half in a freezer container or foil pan and pull it out for another day. The recipe's amount would feed my family of 4 for at least 3-4 meals, easily. I normally scale it down to use 2 cups of dry pasta and it will do 2 very generous meals for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Too much of everything
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
NICE RECIPE and VERY GOOD IDEA to use local vegies in season.Add corn cut from one nice size ear and a few fresh tomatoes also.I don't understand the canned corn or canned tomatoes called for when the idea is to use fresh seasonal vegies.Leave out the canned corn and canned tomatoes.FRESH CORN and Tomatoes are AVAILABLE AT SAME TIME THOSE OTHER VEGIES ARE AVAILABLE and FRESH LOCAL is best. I'm from Wisconsin and live in a farming area so I'm blessed with an abundance of farms all around and roadside stalls plus farmers markets daily in towns.If you have time I would advise to make a homemade sauce with all the cheap tomatoes near the begining of fall(tons at the markets after first frost).As far as the corn I would never use canned unless in a bomb shelter situation,frozen maybe! If you are really in a hurry use the chunky sauce called for , add a few fresh vegies of whatever is available and ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hippiedave

Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States