Garden Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
My family and I loved this recipe. The only thing I changed was I didn't use corn and I used regular pasta sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
This recipe is Boring! The squash and peppers don't add much to the flavor, and without stronger influences, like say broccoli or black olives, it just tastes like the canned spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Delicious and hearty! Full of veggies! We made a vegan version with Daiya Mozzarella. I also added some dried oregano and fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garyloewenthal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Wow - much better than I expected. First, by chop, it's meant about 1/2 inch cubes. Try to be consistent there for even cooking. I hit up the farmer's market this weekend and we were feeling like a "light" meal and I had the squash, zucchini, onion, and red and green peppers on hand... And man were they FRESH (ever notice the stuff from your farmer's market is not as pretty but tastes so much better?) You could taste the freshness. I halved the recipe, and followed it exactly in that respect EXCEPT corn is very much in season here in Florida now so I just cut the kernels off 1 ear and used those (1 ear yields about 1/2 to 3/4 cups FYI). Oh and I used whole wheat/high protein penne pasta (Barilla). I'd say def. boil your pasta till just under done - like you would for a lasagna noodle (very aldente). Either way, the recipe is awesome and you can just go any way from here (next time I'm adding eggplant). We ate it up and still have leftovers for 4 more servings minimum!! Wonderful and on my rotation. You won't miss the meat - and we have a rule - 3 meals per week are meat-less. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORPKID

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
A little blend/dry. I would like to try again but will adjust the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Added extra pasta sauce, as I love pasta sauce, otherwise, followed this to the T, and this turned out great! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
The seasonings make for a nice, flavorful sauce. That said, the end result was more like baked sauce with pasta than the reverse. Next time, I plan to cut back on the pasta sauce by 1/3 to provide more balance and allow the flavors of both the pasta and cheese to come through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RunsWithScissors

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This wasn't very tasty right out of the oven but because I had so much left, I refrigerated it overnight. Reheated the next day it earned a 5 star rating. Suggest making the day before you want to serve it. I am making more now to have for tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I added broccoli to this recipe just because I felt it should be added to the mix. It was AWESOME! And this from someone who usually doesn't do vegetarian recipes...definitely 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FatJoMck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Tasty! I made 3 square baking dishes and froze two. It yielded a lot more than 1 9 x 13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ann marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States