Garden Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This is almost identical to what I make. I read a review that the Italian dressing was overkill. I would like to suggest that you allow people to add their own dressing. We also serve the parmasean cheese on the side, because people like different amounts. We found that "Newman's Own" Oil and Vinegar is especially well liked by most people. If you like it a bit spicier, try the salad seasoning you find in the herbs & spices section as well. Also, we find that halved cherry tomatoes are prettier and often have more flavor than most tomatoes we get up north. Also, you can try sliced black olives for color contrast & variety. It's really a great recipe though, both as suggested and with your own touches. People have varied tastes and by letting them add their own seasoning, they can adjust amounts with ease. You won't have the chance to "marinate," but for company, dieters, diet-restricted, and/or a husband like mine (who won't use dressing at all), it's essential!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
528 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
I'm giving this perticular recipe only 4 stars not because it isn't delicious, but because I make it slightly differently. First, I use whatever pasta we have a lot of... Right now the Family Fav is "Whole Wheat" pasta, incuding some spaghetti, broken up to look like "worms". (We have boys, any questions? LOL) I use anything in the fridge that needs using; including- any fresh veggies, ham, bacon, pepperoni, cubed or shredded cheese (any cheese I use, I add at serving time, as it can become slimey). Olives in our house are a must: green or black & I use them whole (drained). Fresh onions & garlic: finely chopped & chushed, respectively, also. I leave the whole salad rather dry, using only a small amount of olive oil & red or white wine vinegar, shaken together, to keep it moist. **The rest of the family adds whatever Italian-type dressing they want at serving time. My preference is "Good Seasons- Zesty Italian" dry salad dressing mix made with balsamic vinegar & olive oil. However, I've also used fat-free Italian dressing with good results, but keep in mind that "Fat-Free" dressing absorbs/dries out quickly and should be used at serving time. Add some crumbled Feta instead of- or with the Parm. (But then again; I've never met a Feta that I don't like...) ;-) Oh yeah- I serve the peppers on the side becaucse I hate the damned things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
325 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANCYNEON84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Voorheesville, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
Oh boy, definitely overkill on the italian dressing!! This is the kind of salad that you can add whatever makes your taste buds dance. I didn't use the bottled dressing, however, used balsamic vinegar and olive oil along with my own spices. I also added green and black olives, red and green peppers and herb feta cheese. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
I took this to a pot luck over the weekend and it was a HUGE hit. I doubled the recipe and didn't have a bite left (approx 20 people). I didn't measure any ingredients, I just added veggies until it looked right. For the double recipe I only used one bottle of dressing. Two would've worked but it would've been much too oily for me. I'll be making this again at the request of the other guests!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiff
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I tried this recipe because I wanted a tasty pasta salad that didn't have eggs & was easy to prepare. It is great! The only changes I made were: 2 bottles of Italian dressing???!! I only used 3/4 cup of dressing and it seemed plenty and coated well. I added a tad more Parmesan to taste and I thought it lacked pepper big time. Other than that, this is a keeper! I will post a picture of it shortly....enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Very yummy salad! Please do not use 2 whole bottles on this salad one is more then enough. I added cubes of provolone in this and both green and black olives. Gonna try pepperoni in this or salami the next time. Family said this was best Pasta salad they have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kittie24

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Silver Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
This was a hit at my group picnic! I took the suggestion of some of the other reviewers and only used 1 bottle of Italian dressing. I also chopped all the veggies fine because it was easier and I just like it better that way. It was very easy, tasted great, and looked good, too. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
We had a bunch of people over for a big BBQ this weekend, so I kicked it up a lot. We only used one bottle of dressing, and added Gorgonzola and Blue Cheese as well as Bacon Bits and some mushrooms. It didn't last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
Excellent!!! I used one italian dressing instead of two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Great! Fantastic recipe. I reccomend to ANYONE looking for a great salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States