Garden Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This meatloaf fit the requirements for the ingredients I had on hand. It is easy to put together because of the few ingredients. I think I'm not good at judging how much bread crumbs it takes to hold something together because mine was pretty loose. I think I'm more of a fan of using oatmeal rather than the Progresso-type crumbs. This will make yummy sandwiches for us tonight! Thanks, Ann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I added a jalapeno jelly to the top as a glaze then topped with pineapple chunks before baking. YUM!!!! My husband said it was the "BEST MEATLOAF EVER!" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
This was too good and so easy. I did add a small can of tomatoe sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
The flavor of this meatloaf was subtle but good. I think I would like it better with some sort of sauce over top - maybe some of the salsa and brown sugar combined? It definitely only needs about a cup of bread crumbs/oatmeal. We'll be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I've never been a fan of meatloaf, so I searched high and low for a savory recipe. This meatloaf is easy to make and always turns out deliciously everytime! When making it tonight, I added chopped green pepper to the recipe and instead of regular or Panko bread crumbs, I used Corn Flake crumbs (no trans fat & chock-full of vitamins/minerals) to up the healthiness of it. My family and I love it! Serve with mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli or green beans! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APurdy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericktown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This was very good - DH loved it and he will make tasty sandwiches from the leftovers. I reduced the amount of bread crumbs by half, which was a little too much - should have only reduced it maybe 1/2 cup. Also omitted the brown sugar. With Josephines salsa, it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midwestchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Albany, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Made this as is, except a couple times I've substituted ground turkey for the beef. Incredibly simple to put together, and even better the next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I thought this meatloaf was very easy and tasty! I winged a little of it because I wanted to use turkey instead of ground chuck, and I didn't have 1.5 pounds but rather 1.25. I also added 1/2 cup chopped green bell pepper and only used 1 c. bread crumbs (following others' leads that it might end up dry)... HOWEVER, next time I will use all the recommended 1.5 cups bread crumbs because it was a little too juicy/crumbly without it. I used 3 Tsp of brown sugar and it was plenty sweet. Great recipe and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLRYTIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calhoun, Georgia, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I wanted to like this meatloaf, but like another reviewer commented, there is way to much bread crumbs, which made the meatloaf mushy. I think with a little tweaking this could be a good recipe. Less bread crumbs, maybe half the amount. Less brown sugar, maybe 2 or 3 tablespoons. I might try this again with the changes I mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYVIV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bayville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This was the first meatloaf I have ever made and my husband actually said, "Wow, this is way better than my mom's!" How's that for a compliment! Very tasty recipe, no ketchup needed. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States