Garden Herb Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
This bread was phenomenal on all levels: great texture, great taste, great appearance. I found the knot impossible so I instead just braided and coiled into a round, which came out looking amazing and had the same effect as intended in the directions. Thanks to the reviewer who mentioned lengthening the rising time for use with regular yeast. I gave each rise 1 hour and that seemed just right. A helpful hint: If you don't have a warm place to let the dough rise, preheat the oven to 170 degrees (or whatever is lowest) and then turn off the oven when it reaches the temp. Next, open the door and allow it to cool off for about 5 minutes, lay a towel on the oven rack and put your dough in the warm oven to rise, leaving the door ajar. Works like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
Excellent bread Theresa! I skipped the thyme and used some dry seasonings that came with my bread dipping kit. Tying the knot in the middle made it look different than a Challah bread. So pretty! Family loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
It was very yummy! It's the best right out of the oven. Be sure not to use too much flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
don't put TOO MUCH of the same spice..however it is very good. By the way, how do you make it more "bready"?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
Bread flour gives this a more doughy texture than all-purpose flour. LOVE this recipe! Quick, and you don't need a bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
I make this bread once a week and my household loves it!! I make one slight varation however, we are salt eaters (vs. sweet eaters) so i leave out the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SybilK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
This bread is fantastic and easy. After reading other reviews, I also braided the bread in a ring rather than mess with a knot. I've made the bread 6 times in the past few weeks to serve at holiday parties, to give as gifts, and to eat at home. Try it--you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
This is great bread. I used it for a final project at baking school and everyone loved it! I got an A. It is the best served warm right after it is baked. It is still very good the next day or so. Check out the yeast you buy in the grocery store. Mine only sold the rapid rise. So it proofed quickly 20 mins. If you read the back of the yeast package it tells you the conversions. This recipe calls for instant yeast but it won't rise in the amount of time specified...only with the rapid rise kind. You can use your oven as a "proof box" instead if your home is cool or drafty. Turn your oven on to 200 degrees and set a pan of hot water at the bottom rack. Take the rack you plan on putting your bread on out of the oven. When it reaches 200 turn it off. Put the rack back in and the bread. You are looking for the bread to double in size! That's the key. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISHA BEAM

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
I can't really say any different than what the other reviewers already have. It was my first time making bread, outside of a bread machine. It was easy. It really wasnt very time consuming (the longest part was waiting for it to rise), and it looks beautiful and tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
OK, normally I try to be quite modest about my cooking but today, I couldnt help raving about this bread that I made. First, it was so quick and easy to make. I didnt bother with tying the bread in the middle and so I just connected the two ends of the braid and it looked sooo impressive. Second, I ran out of sugar and had to put half honey and it was still excellent. It smelled amazing and tasted even better. This is only my second attempt making bread and I'm not sure I can move on to another recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States