Garden Herb Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
I make this bread once a week and my household loves it!! I make one slight varation however, we are salt eaters (vs. sweet eaters) so i leave out the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SybilK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
This bread is fantastic and easy. After reading other reviews, I also braided the bread in a ring rather than mess with a knot. I've made the bread 6 times in the past few weeks to serve at holiday parties, to give as gifts, and to eat at home. Try it--you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
This is great bread. I used it for a final project at baking school and everyone loved it! I got an A. It is the best served warm right after it is baked. It is still very good the next day or so. Check out the yeast you buy in the grocery store. Mine only sold the rapid rise. So it proofed quickly 20 mins. If you read the back of the yeast package it tells you the conversions. This recipe calls for instant yeast but it won't rise in the amount of time specified...only with the rapid rise kind. You can use your oven as a "proof box" instead if your home is cool or drafty. Turn your oven on to 200 degrees and set a pan of hot water at the bottom rack. Take the rack you plan on putting your bread on out of the oven. When it reaches 200 turn it off. Put the rack back in and the bread. You are looking for the bread to double in size! That's the key. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISHA BEAM

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
I can't really say any different than what the other reviewers already have. It was my first time making bread, outside of a bread machine. It was easy. It really wasnt very time consuming (the longest part was waiting for it to rise), and it looks beautiful and tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
OK, normally I try to be quite modest about my cooking but today, I couldnt help raving about this bread that I made. First, it was so quick and easy to make. I didnt bother with tying the bread in the middle and so I just connected the two ends of the braid and it looked sooo impressive. Second, I ran out of sugar and had to put half honey and it was still excellent. It smelled amazing and tasted even better. This is only my second attempt making bread and I'm not sure I can move on to another recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
Great recipe. Came out nice and soft on the inside. Not too dense. Went perfect with pasta. I didn't have all of the necessary spices on hand, so I substituted my own instead. Rosemary, Oregano, and Basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
This is an OUTSTANDING herb loaf recipe. Although I used a tad more herbs though. Have made it many times and my friends would beg me to bring a loaf at every dinner party! I have used a bread machine to make it before too and turns out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
this was a delicious bread that was very easy to make. my husband had me make a marinara sauce to dip it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
Very Yummy! I used fresh rosemary, thyme and oregano and added the herbs after I divided the dough into three parts, one herb in each part. I used one Tbsp of each. Then I braided the ropes and baked that way. It took less baking time and was beautiful. Will definetly do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
this was an amazing, wonderful bread. I made it for a party and it was beautiful, easy to make, and had a wonderful sweet italian flavor. I recommend it to all my friends. The braiding sounded difficult but it was actually very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALERETTE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States