Garden Herb Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I made this bread yesterday and we were really happy with the end result. I followed the method exactly, but I did swap out the marjoram for some fresh dill (thought I had some and did not). The bread is pretty dense and is both sweet and savory at the same time. I'm looking forward to trying it toasted!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheCambodianCook
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Wow. This is so good. My husband raves about it and can't believe I did it all with a kitchen aid and oven! Great bread!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Didn't like it, but was valuable in teaching me that I don't like rosemary...boyfriend loved it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hithatsmybike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This bread was delicious! I used 1 T of fresh herbs instead of dry and left out the marjoram. It's a bit time consuming but not difficult to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
All the ages loved this. The kids enjoyed the braiding and shaping. Excellent soft, chewy interior with firm crust. I used fresh, chopped herbs (1 Tb. each), substituting fresh oregano for marjoram (the herbs are related, I think). Substituted about a cup of whole wheat flour. Excellent with the 12 Minute Pasta Toss recipe on this site. Oh--I'd like to vary the herbs in the future, and try half of the yeast. NOTE: This is a FAST recipe, especially for the rising, but if you want to prepare the dough in advance, as I did, you'll have to punch it down several times! (Less yeast=allow more time for rising).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
This bread is so yummy and it looks beautiful. I use fresh herbs and it turns out great. (one T instead of 1 t.) I have even made this in the dough cycle of my bread machine, adjusting the temperature of the liquids. At the end of the cycle I proceed with rolling out the ropes. I've also used 100% white whole wheat flour by adding vital wheat gluten. And this recipe even works when you cut it all in half. You get a smaller bread but it is still beautiful. (adjust cooking time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
The dough was impossible to braid, very sticky. So i sortof formed it into a loaf and it went all flat while rising. It still gets 5 stars cause i have never EVER been able to make bread as good as this. My husband is not a bread eater at all, but he kept requesting it. I also doubled the amount of spices with some other italian spices. The texture was just awesome. I also tried it with the chickenspices like some1 suggested. Used a tablespoon (probably depends on which brand you use) insted of the other spices. Will use 1 1/2 next time. Very nice. I think you can make all kinds of bread with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
Ok i have to say I think I am a pretty good cook but when it comes to baking i have things to learn. New bakers dont be afraid of this one it was a great bread and not as hard as I thought it would have been. The only thing i could have done is cook it mayve 5 minutes longer, but it was great and it got eaten up in minutes! The smell of this bread just made the house smell like a bakery!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Brock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marshall, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
This bread was okay, not great. I altered it by using 1 TB each of rosemary, thyme, oregano, and basil. It still seemed kind of bland somehow. It may have been the texture, which was uniformly soft and not very interesting in the mouth, in my opinion. I formed the braid in a circle rather than a knot, and I got comments on what a pretty loaf it was, but nobody had anything else to say about it. We will finish eating it, but I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
Excellent bread! I made it with garden fresh herbs. I also divided it into six "bun" shaped pieces, baked on a pizza stone and used them as home-made buns! Just a tad on the dry side, but perfect with burger fixin's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States