Garden Herb Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by mrs.embee
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I give this 3.5 stars for taste/texture, but bump it up to 4 for ease of preparation. We still prefer Jo's Rosemary Bread from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I added cheese. It looks really pretty. I'm not much of a bread person but my husband and mother liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyauck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I've made this bread dozens of times for years now and always get asked for the recipe. When right out of the oven, I smother it in butter and add parmesan cheese on top and it never lasts long! Its a favorite in our house! I've also noticed it cooks faster and more thoroughly if you braid it and leave it in a long loaf rather than a round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Center, Washington, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Very easy to make and so yummy!! I added different herbs to it, a dash of garlic salt, onion powder and general italian seasoning still great. I'm going to try and use bread flour next time and see the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miranda7280

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
We love this bread!! I've made it round and also just a long braid (easier to cut) It comes out beautiful and yummy either way. I agree that fresh herbs make the difference. ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I made this bread yesterday and we were really happy with the end result. I followed the method exactly, but I did swap out the marjoram for some fresh dill (thought I had some and did not). The bread is pretty dense and is both sweet and savory at the same time. I'm looking forward to trying it toasted!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheCambodianCook
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Wow. This is so good. My husband raves about it and can't believe I did it all with a kitchen aid and oven! Great bread!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Didn't like it, but was valuable in teaching me that I don't like rosemary...boyfriend loved it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hithatsmybike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This bread was delicious! I used 1 T of fresh herbs instead of dry and left out the marjoram. It's a bit time consuming but not difficult to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
All the ages loved this. The kids enjoyed the braiding and shaping. Excellent soft, chewy interior with firm crust. I used fresh, chopped herbs (1 Tb. each), substituting fresh oregano for marjoram (the herbs are related, I think). Substituted about a cup of whole wheat flour. Excellent with the 12 Minute Pasta Toss recipe on this site. Oh--I'd like to vary the herbs in the future, and try half of the yeast. NOTE: This is a FAST recipe, especially for the rising, but if you want to prepare the dough in advance, as I did, you'll have to punch it down several times! (Less yeast=allow more time for rising).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 31-40 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States