Garden Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
This soup was the best. I didn't have cloves around the house, but it still turned out wonderfully, I added some garlic instead. Also, Rather than discarding all of the tomatoes after they'd cooked, I pureed them for a few seconds in the blender, and added them to the rue. It was fabulous. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
640 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
So quick and easy. Why would anyone opt for canned tomato soup when they can have this delicious fresh soup so easily. This one will appear on my table often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
I really loved the taste of this soup, although I did not add the cloves, and I added milk to it at the end to make it more creamy. Also, it says it's scaled to 6 srvgs, but it only like 3 bowls. So definitely double or even triple it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
This was definitely fast,but just a little too bland for us..next time I will add some fresh basil and maybe oregano..and maybe a little sherry:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
This was Great! I addes herbs liike Tyme and Basil to add more flavor and blended the entire thing. Made is really creamy. My husband does not like tomatoe sauces but he ate this all up!!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
This recipe was wonderful. Best tomato soup I've ever had. I added 2 cloves of crushed garlic, an extra bay leaf, and whole peppercorns (green, black, white, and red) along with the cloves. I also used vegetable broth to make it vegetarian. Top each bowlful with a handful of garlic croutons, and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
My family really liked this recipe. The cloves gave it a really distinct taste. I was a little nervous about how they would make it taste but it was wonderful. I added about 1/8 tsp of white pepper and 1 clove of garlic to the tomato/onion/broth mixture to give it a little more flavor. My husband added some meatballs that I had made earlier in the week for spaghetti and meatballs and he said that they were wonderful in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
Absolutely out of this world!! This is fantastic tomato soup. I grow tons of tomatoes in my garden every summer and when I can them, I use my sauce instead of the fresh and it turns out just as good and quicker!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
Every Saturday I get blemished tomatoes free from our local farmer's market and use them to make this soup. Everyone loves it. I can't imagine leaving out the cloves -- I think that's what makes it! I use an electric stick blender to make it smooth and top it with a sprinkling of fresh grated Romano Cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
This soup is just delicious. I have searched for a good recipe for fresh tomato soup and now I have one! I added a couple of dashes of cayene pepper to give it some extra zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 745) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States