Garden Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
This is a very rich soup, but so good. Using the recipe "list" adds only six tomatoes. I chose six large tomatoes and it really was only enough for 3 people, so use your best judgement in expanding the recipe. I had great results by skinning my tomatoes (core, x bottoms, boil, ice bath, peel), and by using an immersion blender (mine is a $60 KitchenAid 2 speed KHB1231 model, which was perfect). Using a food mill is nice, but it really strips even more of the soup's substance (I milled the soup first, but it yielded pretty thin). After adding soup in spoonfuls to the roux, I used the immersion blender one last time, which provided a very consistent creaminess. Food for thought... Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
This soup was amazing. This was the first time I had single handedly made something all by myself, and it was a huge hit. I had no chicken broth though, so I had to use 2 cups of water combined with 2 tablespoons of butter to use as 2 cups of chicken broth substitute. Even then, the soup was great. I do plan on making this dish for many years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beginningcooker

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
This was an amazingly fast easy way to use up garden fresh tomatoes! We modified the recipe just a tad by adding sautéed garlic and two tablespoons of pesto. Tastes great garnished with sour cream too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Yummy. I used a Foley food mill which worked great to remove seeds and peels. I used one onion sliced (not one slice) as the video version of this recipe showed. Thankful to find a good way to use our bumper crop of tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Fresh and delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I didn't have that many tomatoes, so I used two 28 oz. cans peeled, Italian tomatoes- one drained. I also added about 1/2 cup of heavy cream at the end with the fresh basil and it was very good! Even my sister who isn't crazy about tomato soup thought it was really tasty! This will be so good this winter on those cold nights when I'm craving a hot bowl of soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.RalstoninGA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Waco, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I followed VIVIBO's suggestions (first critique). Best soup ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
All I will do is Make MORE next time!!! Picked tomatoes this morning and thought I would see if I could make some Soup.... This is the first and definetly not the last time I will make it. Thank you All Recipe's You are changing my cooking and my husband is loving it! Sorry kids..... Better late than never!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This is one of our favorite soups! This recipe is easy and the soup comes out perfectly. I've followed this recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This soup was delicious! I made it according to recipe. Didn't need to add or take away a thing. Will definitely be making it again! Can't wait to share this with family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 779) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States