Garden Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I have tons of tomatoes from my garden and needed a way to use them up. I was browsing for tomato recipes while drunk last night and accidentally wrote down 2 cups of tomatoes instead of 4. I just realized that now, after having made the recipe and coming back to review it. Anyway, despite me only putting in 2 cups of tomatoes, it is seriously good and really simple. I look forward to making this again, but with the correct proportions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claire03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Love it. Best way of using tomatoes from your garden. I simplified the steps. I first cook the onion and garlic in a little bit of olive oil until the onion is well cooked. Then I put in the same pot the butter and the flour and after half of a minute I add the broth and I like to put some broth and some milk to make it more creamy. Thanks for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I made this yesterday and I can tell I will be making it frequently in the future. I did follow the recipe, including using just one large slice of onion. I didn't have whole cloves but I did put in about 1/4 to 1/3 tsp. ground cloves instead. Since I don't have a food mill I used my immersion blender and just pureed it thoroughly and plan on using this method in future as well. It did require a good amount of salt at the end and I may consider adding salt at the beginning of the cooking process. I think I might use more onion and possibly some garlic and basil next time too. I plan on dicing the onion so that I can puree it more easily. All in all, very tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rachellephipps
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I tripled this and just blended it in a blender rather than food mill. It was delicious! I set it out with a variety of toppings: Parmesan cheese , mozzarella cheese, pepperoni, parsley, red pepper flakes, olives, half and half, etc! My family just loved it! :). I left out the cloves and added garlic, instead! I was able to use up my abundance of fresh garden tomatoes with this recipe and we will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kristina123
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
YUM!!! The only thing that I don't like is that it doesn't make a lot :/ I did make some changes like the other people- I added garlic, no cloves, added basil & black pepper. I also didn't do the butter and flour, and I mixed it in a blender after the 20 mins boiling (let it sit a little before pouring it in there). I'll definitely be making this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
This is a very rich soup, but so good. Using the recipe "list" adds only six tomatoes. I chose six large tomatoes and it really was only enough for 3 people, so use your best judgement in expanding the recipe. I had great results by skinning my tomatoes (core, x bottoms, boil, ice bath, peel), and by using an immersion blender (mine is a $60 KitchenAid 2 speed KHB1231 model, which was perfect). Using a food mill is nice, but it really strips even more of the soup's substance (I milled the soup first, but it yielded pretty thin). After adding soup in spoonfuls to the roux, I used the immersion blender one last time, which provided a very consistent creaminess. Food for thought... Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
This soup was amazing. This was the first time I had single handedly made something all by myself, and it was a huge hit. I had no chicken broth though, so I had to use 2 cups of water combined with 2 tablespoons of butter to use as 2 cups of chicken broth substitute. Even then, the soup was great. I do plan on making this dish for many years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beginningcooker

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
This was an amazingly fast easy way to use up garden fresh tomatoes! We modified the recipe just a tad by adding sautéed garlic and two tablespoons of pesto. Tastes great garnished with sour cream too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Yummy. I used a Foley food mill which worked great to remove seeds and peels. I used one onion sliced (not one slice) as the video version of this recipe showed. Thankful to find a good way to use our bumper crop of tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Fresh and delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 784) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States