Garden Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I followed the directions to the letter and the "soup" was awful! Not a hint of tomato taste and to be honest, I could not identify exactly what it did taste like. I used fresh tomatoes out of my garden which are delicious and full of flavor and all the other ingredients were fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Delicious soup! The fresh tomato taste is wonderful. I love that there are only a few ingredients, preserves the garden fresh taste of the tomatoes. I don't have a food mill. I used my stick blender, but it did not blend the tomato skins very well. So next time I will peel the tomatoes first. Thank you Charlotte for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Delish! I followed VIVBO's suggested changes and I did not use cloves as didn't have any on hand. I served with a dollop of plain 0% yoghurt as it is quite peppery with the cayenne. I did not add any sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I doubled the tomatoes, added a block of cream cheese and some basil. So good. Perfect with some grilled cheese, or as a side or app. Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I followed this fairly closely. I used ground cloves, and I thought that was perfect, never would have thought of it myself. The soup was good, but I like creamier tomato soup with basil and garlic better. WARNING: if you blend the soup as shown in the video, you are getting a totally different soup than the original recipe makes. Running it through a food mill takes out all the skins, seeds, and most of the onion, so you just get the tomato juice and pulp with onion flavor. So... BLENDER: thicker with all the solids mixed in and stronger onion taste, FOOD MILL: thinner with just the tomato flavor. Another option many have suggested is to blend and then strain through a sieve, but I think you would still be getting too much onion that way. The food mill is definitely my top choice for this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I'm sorry, we just didn't enjoy it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sschwark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
First time making tomato soup great but I used immersion blender still it came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
VIVIBO has the right idea. Don't waste all the veggie goodness! Just blend it. It was very good as VIVIBO altered it. I stopped at blending in the roux and just stired in the fresh basil at the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by benandsophiesmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I have tons of tomatoes from my garden and needed a way to use them up. I was browsing for tomato recipes while drunk last night and accidentally wrote down 2 cups of tomatoes instead of 4. I just realized that now, after having made the recipe and coming back to review it. Anyway, despite me only putting in 2 cups of tomatoes, it is seriously good and really simple. I look forward to making this again, but with the correct proportions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claire03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Love it. Best way of using tomatoes from your garden. I simplified the steps. I first cook the onion and garlic in a little bit of olive oil until the onion is well cooked. Then I put in the same pot the butter and the flour and after half of a minute I add the broth and I like to put some broth and some milk to make it more creamy. Thanks for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 61-70 (of 782) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States