Garden Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Cloves? Really? Yup! This was a very quick and simple recipe. I made it as-written. I may slightly prefer another tomato soup recipe from this site but this one rocks for its simplicity. Great with canned plum tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Yes! I loved it. This is the first time I have tried to make homemade tomato soup. I had brought a large package of tomatoes from Easy Way and did not want them to go to waste. I always love Allrecipes.com, they have the best recipes. I found this one and made it. It is so tasty, I will never buy can tomato soup again....I am so domestic now......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
The simplicity of this recipe is beautiful and it tasted amazing. I trusted the few people that said not to change a thing in the previous reviews and they were absolutely right. This with salad and garlic bread on the side made an awesome meal. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Loved it so much and honestly I usually hate soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I made this soup "as is" and it was wonderful. Note: 1 slice onion is a typo. It should say 1 sliced onion.(which is shown in the video) I used my Ninja blender to puree it and all the skins and seeds were broken down completely. I did remove the cloves beforehand because they did not break down as well. The second time I added about a Tablespoon dried basil after the rue. This pairs well with grilled cheese. The third time I added roasted red pepper instead of basil which tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stella Reynoso
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I'd never made tomato soup before, but other recipes seemed more complicated, or called for ingredients I didn't readily have on hand. I found this one and have made this soup a number of times already, and it is just as quick, simple, and delicious each time! Added basil as a variation and it was fabulous. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella Reynoso

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Delicious - not for Rod
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Photo by Weedalot
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Amazing, tried it for the first time and I've loved how easy it is. Next time I'll add some extras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Weedalot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This soup is amazing with homegrown tomatoes and herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
This was delish! Even my kids loved it...or maybe it was the grilled cheese sandwiches that they dipped in it. I know folks say not to change the recipe then rate it, but here I am. I followed VIVIBO's advice on many things. Based on what I had on hand, I used two 28 oz cans of chopped tomatoes, one large sliced yellow onion, four cloves of garlic, two cups of broth, 1 tsp of sugar, dried basil (I know that's sacrilege, but it was POURING outside!), a dash or two of cayenne, salt and pepper, a dash of balsamic vinegar, approximately a cup of 1/2 n 1/2. I did not make a roux (didn't want to dirty another pan) but made a flour/water slurry instead. I like the idea of the roux, browning the butter and flour always adds a nice depth of flavor, but I was on a time crunch and didn't miss it. Just had the leftovers for lunch today and it was even better the second day. I liked the creaminess the 1/2 n 1/2 added, but could probably leave it out if freezing or watching calories. This is a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 795) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States