Garden Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This soup is amazing with homegrown tomatoes and herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
This was delish! Even my kids loved it...or maybe it was the grilled cheese sandwiches that they dipped in it. I know folks say not to change the recipe then rate it, but here I am. I followed VIVIBO's advice on many things. Based on what I had on hand, I used two 28 oz cans of chopped tomatoes, one large sliced yellow onion, four cloves of garlic, two cups of broth, 1 tsp of sugar, dried basil (I know that's sacrilege, but it was POURING outside!), a dash or two of cayenne, salt and pepper, a dash of balsamic vinegar, approximately a cup of 1/2 n 1/2. I did not make a roux (didn't want to dirty another pan) but made a flour/water slurry instead. I like the idea of the roux, browning the butter and flour always adds a nice depth of flavor, but I was on a time crunch and didn't miss it. Just had the leftovers for lunch today and it was even better the second day. I liked the creaminess the 1/2 n 1/2 added, but could probably leave it out if freezing or watching calories. This is a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This is my favorite tomato soup recipe. Perfect when you have all those tomatoes coming in and not sure what to do with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Used garden tomatoes. Sauteed garlic and onion in olive oil then added the rest. Added 1/2 cup of heavy cream after I strained it. Double recipe next time. Boys loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Hmm. Did not have fresh tomatoes, so used two 28 oz cans diced tomatoes, and adjusted the servings to 9 (2 cans equaled about 6 cups, drained slightly). Rest was made as written, although because of the canned tomatoes, did not add additional salt - definitely didn't need it! Like others, the cloves confused me, but the video indicates cloves the spice, not garlic cloves, so I stuck with that. (3 whole cloves = 1/4 tsp ground, for those who wondered.). Left the soup a little chunky, which we liked, but hubby and I both thought the clove taste was a little odd, and a little strong. Will likely try this again, but will probably use garlic and basil instead of cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I have made this 3 times now. I always follow the basic recipe but I never make the roux to thicken it as I have been freezing this for this winter. A little cream and butter when reheating is a delicious addition to this fresh tasting soup. This is now, my go to recipe to use up our summer bounty of heirloom tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
We loved it. I added the garlic and onions and balsamic vinegar recommended by another cook who reviewed this recipe. Turned out great. I pealed and chopped my tomatoes. I used a hand blender to puree the soup. I will make It again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Yes we love this fresh made tomato soup. Even the grandkids raved about it. I have passed it on to several friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean's
Living In: Lakebay, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Thank you, Charlotte for sharing this recipe. Big hit in my family and I followed it to the "t".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nanby
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This soup was basically on the right track. However, not exactly what I was looking for. I'd probably leave out the cloves next time. I noticed a lot of people changed the recipe considerably to get it to their liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanby

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 777) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States