Garden Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
OK as written, but excellent with the addition of fresh basil, cayenne, and a little cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Loved it - reviews are terrific with additions to customize soup. I sauteed carrots, garlic and onions first, added tomatoes and stock. When all was softened, I ran through blender - no seeds or skins left! Made roux as directed and added heavy cream. 1t. sugar, 1t. cloves, 1T balsamic vinegar. Served with crumpled bacon on top. So much fun to play with - basic recipe is great for freezing, when thawing pay around with different additives. Think I'll add dollop of sour cream, when serving from frozen stash. Thanks to all reviewers for ideas and for Charlotte's terrific basic soup (and for sharing, everyone!). If you think you've added too much of any spice, just add more tomatoes. Great fun to taste and add whatever's missing. Some day I'm going to read every single one of these reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I just made this, doubling, with 6# of tomatoes - I didn't use cloves and like another person, I used chopped carrots instead of sugar and I also added 6 cloves of chopped garlic ...it was really good and the roux made it even nicer - freezing it and looking forward to fresh tomato soup in the middle of winter! I think dill or basil would be a nice addition at the end. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Esposito

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I LOVED this soup, it was simple to prepare and the fresh tomato flavor was delicious. I had made it previously with the cloves but did not add them this time and thought it much better without that addition. The pure tomato flavor really shines through! I used an immersion blender and it was such a blessing avoiding the mess of transferring to a standard blender. I added a topping of crème fraiche (yogurt or sour cream would work as well) and some fresh chopped basil. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Ogen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Followed stated recipe ... not very flavourful... i would look and see what others added or for a new recipe....which I will be doing next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Modified recipe to fit with my diet. Added garlic, fresh oregano and basil, and a few red pepper flakes. Eliminated butter, flour salt and sugar. I used Black Krim garden tomatoes. Thickened with 1 T corn starch. Used stick blender to blend up seeds and peels. Nice rustic soup. Oh, added a small amount of chicken base. Put the cloves in a tea strainer, as others have. Ate with garlic french bread. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRNBEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greentown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
We doubled the recipe and made a few changes. The soup was wonderful! We didn't add sugar, added fresh basil, and added 8 cloves of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe! I substituted veg broth for the chicken broth, but otherwise made it exactly as described. I'm preparing it a second time now and am not making any additional modifications. This round I'm actually multiplying the recipe by seven to use up garden tomatoes and to have soup in the freezer for the winter. My only critique is the portion size as described. A single batch would only make about 2-3 entree servings in my house. But what a great, inexpensive, delicious recipe that also makes the house smell great while it is cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Amazing recipe! My family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Made this last night for dinner. Made some changes as suggested by previous reviewers. I sauteed some garlic in olive oil first, then added the onions and tomatoes. I also added some basil and instead of cream, I added Mocha Mix. (Hubby can't have a lot of dairy, so non-dairy creamer works great as a substitution)We both thought this was fantastic! I brought the leftovers to work today for lunch! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 744) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States