Garden Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
This is a fantastic tomato soup recipe. I made it according to the recipe and my husband said it was the best tomato soup he has ever had. I loved it, too! It is special enough to serve to guests for lunch. I will probably make gallons of it from my garden tomatoes to freeze for winter. I'm always happy to find another recipe to use up the seemingly endless supply of tomatoes from my garden that we will actually end up eating! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
This soup is wonderful and easy. It's a perfect 'end of summer season taste' with a hint of autumn from the bit of clove. It's just two of us, so I used one big can of San Marzano tomatoes and 2 cups of well-seasoned vegetable stock, blended with cooked sweet onions and garlic and real butter. Seasoned to taste with S&P and dash of ground clove. Delicious! My veggie boyfriend loved this with thick grilled cheese sandwich. Cozy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Love it just as written! Great fresh tomato taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belpre, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Wow! This soup is great. I used tomatoes and onion from the garden in a very very rough chop, a few pinches of ground cloves, and vegetable broth. I also made my roux vegan and gluten free by using gf flour and olive oil. I also do not have a mill so I used an immersion blender and a strainer - worked perfectly. Restaurant quality soup for sure. My only addition was a generous sprinkle of red pepper flakes before blending, but I'd leave that out next time even though I love spicy food - this soup doesn't need it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boxsquat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Absolutely delicious! Summer in a bowl :) stuck to recipe but see many options for embellishment of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Loved this soup! I added fresh basil and made homemade chicken broth to go in. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
It had good flavor. I made it really quickly and didn't have a way to smooth it so it was chunky but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Freeport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Even though its summer, I have so many tomatoes, I don't know what to do with them. So I tried this recipe and it was amazing! Really good recipe. Recommend this one for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob and Ash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I doubled the recipe and added basil, oregano and a pinch of cayenne. It was very tasty, but it wasn't quite as good as the tomato basil soups I've had in restaurants. However, I realize this version is much healthier without the added heavy cream and lots of butter. I would make this again as it was a good use of garden tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I added the tomatoes whole, used generous helpings of vidalia onions. Used 8 red bell peppers, one can of condensed milk in place of other milk products. Used a hand held in pot processor (not sure the accurate name). I let it simmer and slow cook for about 5 hours. It turned out delicious. My 19 year old daughter has already attacked it 3 times and it is only 11am in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 732) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States