Garden Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Really good recipe, just think the sugar wasn't needed since it made it a bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Added b vinegar, basil, extra garlic, cut sugar in half, Added 1/3 cup of whipping cream, also added cooked carrots& butternut squash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna McGuire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Very tasty. I used ground cloves as suggested by another reviewer. Will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I thought the flavor of this was just okay and also, mine was seriously "bright orange." To make the recipe quicker, I just put everything in my Vitamix blender on the soup function after sauteing the onions in the butter. Only change I made was using a couple small pinches of allspice in place of the cloves, so it easily blended. I got about 6-7 servings and took quite a bit of tomatoes. I would consider halving the recipe, if making for 1-2 people. I have a lot leftover. No one seemed to love this soup, but at least it used up some tomatoes that were about to expire anyhow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This is a very simple, very nutritious and very good recipe. I simplify it by blending the tomatoes and onion in the Vitamix first then add it to the pot with the broth and cloves. I don't use salt or sugar and it comes out great. You can also reduce the amount of broth if you like it thicker. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I did not know how good homemade soup could be, this is the best tomato soup. it rocks big time! and you can add almost anything to this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Used a whole sweet sliced onion along with homemade chicken stock and fresh tomatoes from the garden. I REMOVED THE CLOVES before processing with my immersion blender. No need to strain. Be sure to slowly brown (and stir constantly) the (I used sweet butter) butter-flour mix over low heat - took about 5 minutes for mine to be the correct color. Perfect tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Very tasty. We didn't have any chicken stock so I used beef instead and we were right out of onions so I fried up some apples to give them that sour/sweet flavour you get from onions. As I went to fetch the tomatoes a squall of hungry cats elbowed me out of the way and I was forced to use what was left in the fridge - some old garlic, a handful of oyster mushrooms and some limberger cheese. Plunged into darkness as the result of a severe thunderstorm I order our lodger to mash all of the remaining ingredients with his bare feet and then cooked it all up in an old tin can over several candles. We ate it by candlelight and accompanied ourselves on the marimba. Highly reccomended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I had a lot of tomatoes from the garden this year, and this was a great way to use them up.I peeled them first, and used twice as much garlic, sauteed garlic and onion in a couple tablespoons of olive oil.I had fresh basil and oregano, so I added about 2 T total. I added about 2 T of tarragon vinegar and 1/4 t cayenne pepper, also put the cloves in a tea ball so they would be easier to retrieve. Used an immersion blender and left the mixture chunky, like a bisque. I topped the bowls with grated Parmesan and a drizzle more olive oil. With grilled cheese, the ultimate yummy lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimberly, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I had some tomatoes from the garden that were about ready to go when I came across this recipe. Wow. Super easy and it is delicious. This winter when the tomatoes in the grocery store aren't too good I will use canned San Marzano tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 735) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States