Garden Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Followed stated recipe ... not very flavourful... i would look and see what others added or for a new recipe....which I will be doing next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Modified recipe to fit with my diet. Added garlic, fresh oregano and basil, and a few red pepper flakes. Eliminated butter, flour salt and sugar. I used Black Krim garden tomatoes. Thickened with 1 T corn starch. Used stick blender to blend up seeds and peels. Nice rustic soup. Oh, added a small amount of chicken base. Put the cloves in a tea strainer, as others have. Ate with garlic french bread. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRNBEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greentown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
We doubled the recipe and made a few changes. The soup was wonderful! We didn't add sugar, added fresh basil, and added 8 cloves of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe! I substituted veg broth for the chicken broth, but otherwise made it exactly as described. I'm preparing it a second time now and am not making any additional modifications. This round I'm actually multiplying the recipe by seven to use up garden tomatoes and to have soup in the freezer for the winter. My only critique is the portion size as described. A single batch would only make about 2-3 entree servings in my house. But what a great, inexpensive, delicious recipe that also makes the house smell great while it is cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Amazing recipe! My family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Made this last night for dinner. Made some changes as suggested by previous reviewers. I sauteed some garlic in olive oil first, then added the onions and tomatoes. I also added some basil and instead of cream, I added Mocha Mix. (Hubby can't have a lot of dairy, so non-dairy creamer works great as a substitution)We both thought this was fantastic! I brought the leftovers to work today for lunch! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Great! I made it...added about a 1/4 cup white wine after sautéing the onions in 2 tbs of olive oil. After cooking for about 20 I blended the entire soup (removed the cloves- I would actually not put these in next time at all). Followed the rest exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiffany Wharton
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I added carrots for sweetness instead of sugar. And when I made the roux I added a little cream. I also put mine through a food processor before the food mill. I think this is a great recipe especially as a base recipe. I look forward to adding an herb bouquet next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Wharton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mccomb, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I followed the directions to the letter and the "soup" was awful! Not a hint of tomato taste and to be honest, I could not identify exactly what it did taste like. I used fresh tomatoes out of my garden which are delicious and full of flavor and all the other ingredients were fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Delicious soup! The fresh tomato taste is wonderful. I love that there are only a few ingredients, preserves the garden fresh taste of the tomatoes. I don't have a food mill. I used my stick blender, but it did not blend the tomato skins very well. So next time I will peel the tomatoes first. Thank you Charlotte for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 770) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States