Garden Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Made this last night for dinner. Made some changes as suggested by previous reviewers. I sauteed some garlic in olive oil first, then added the onions and tomatoes. I also added some basil and instead of cream, I added Mocha Mix. (Hubby can't have a lot of dairy, so non-dairy creamer works great as a substitution)We both thought this was fantastic! I brought the leftovers to work today for lunch! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Great! I made it...added about a 1/4 cup white wine after sautéing the onions in 2 tbs of olive oil. After cooking for about 20 I blended the entire soup (removed the cloves- I would actually not put these in next time at all). Followed the rest exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiffany Wharton
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I added carrots for sweetness instead of sugar. And when I made the roux I added a little cream. I also put mine through a food processor before the food mill. I think this is a great recipe especially as a base recipe. I look forward to adding an herb bouquet next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Wharton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mccomb, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I followed the directions to the letter and the "soup" was awful! Not a hint of tomato taste and to be honest, I could not identify exactly what it did taste like. I used fresh tomatoes out of my garden which are delicious and full of flavor and all the other ingredients were fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Delicious soup! The fresh tomato taste is wonderful. I love that there are only a few ingredients, preserves the garden fresh taste of the tomatoes. I don't have a food mill. I used my stick blender, but it did not blend the tomato skins very well. So next time I will peel the tomatoes first. Thank you Charlotte for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Delish! I followed VIVBO's suggested changes and I did not use cloves as didn't have any on hand. I served with a dollop of plain 0% yoghurt as it is quite peppery with the cayenne. I did not add any sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I doubled the tomatoes, added a block of cream cheese and some basil. So good. Perfect with some grilled cheese, or as a side or app. Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I followed this fairly closely. I used ground cloves, and I thought that was perfect, never would have thought of it myself. The soup was good, but I like creamier tomato soup with basil and garlic better. WARNING: if you blend the soup as shown in the video, you are getting a totally different soup than the original recipe makes. Running it through a food mill takes out all the skins, seeds, and most of the onion, so you just get the tomato juice and pulp with onion flavor. So... BLENDER: thicker with all the solids mixed in and stronger onion taste, FOOD MILL: thinner with just the tomato flavor. Another option many have suggested is to blend and then strain through a sieve, but I think you would still be getting too much onion that way. The food mill is definitely my top choice for this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I'm sorry, we just didn't enjoy it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sschwark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
First time making tomato soup great but I used immersion blender still it came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 765) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States