Garden Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I made this soup "as is" and it was wonderful. Note: 1 slice onion is a typo. It should say 1 sliced onion.(which is shown in the video) I used my Ninja blender to puree it and all the skins and seeds were broken down completely. I did remove the cloves beforehand because they did not break down as well. The second time I added about a Tablespoon dried basil after the rue. This pairs well with grilled cheese. The third time I added roasted red pepper instead of basil which tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stella Reynoso
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I'd never made tomato soup before, but other recipes seemed more complicated, or called for ingredients I didn't readily have on hand. I found this one and have made this soup a number of times already, and it is just as quick, simple, and delicious each time! Added basil as a variation and it was fabulous. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella Reynoso

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Delicious - not for Rod
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Photo by Weedalot
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Amazing, tried it for the first time and I've loved how easy it is. Next time I'll add some extras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Weedalot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This soup is amazing with homegrown tomatoes and herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
This was delish! Even my kids loved it...or maybe it was the grilled cheese sandwiches that they dipped in it. I know folks say not to change the recipe then rate it, but here I am. I followed VIVIBO's advice on many things. Based on what I had on hand, I used two 28 oz cans of chopped tomatoes, one large sliced yellow onion, four cloves of garlic, two cups of broth, 1 tsp of sugar, dried basil (I know that's sacrilege, but it was POURING outside!), a dash or two of cayenne, salt and pepper, a dash of balsamic vinegar, approximately a cup of 1/2 n 1/2. I did not make a roux (didn't want to dirty another pan) but made a flour/water slurry instead. I like the idea of the roux, browning the butter and flour always adds a nice depth of flavor, but I was on a time crunch and didn't miss it. Just had the leftovers for lunch today and it was even better the second day. I liked the creaminess the 1/2 n 1/2 added, but could probably leave it out if freezing or watching calories. This is a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This is my favorite tomato soup recipe. Perfect when you have all those tomatoes coming in and not sure what to do with them. I have tried MANY tomato soups, and THIS one is the BEST! I did make the changes Vivibo suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Used garden tomatoes. Sauteed garlic and onion in olive oil then added the rest. Added 1/2 cup of heavy cream after I strained it. Double recipe next time. Boys loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Hmm. Did not have fresh tomatoes, so used two 28 oz cans diced tomatoes, and adjusted the servings to 9 (2 cans equaled about 6 cups, drained slightly). Rest was made as written, although because of the canned tomatoes, did not add additional salt - definitely didn't need it! Like others, the cloves confused me, but the video indicates cloves the spice, not garlic cloves, so I stuck with that. (3 whole cloves = 1/4 tsp ground, for those who wondered.). Left the soup a little chunky, which we liked, but hubby and I both thought the clove taste was a little odd, and a little strong. Will likely try this again, but will probably use garlic and basil instead of cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I have made this 3 times now. I always follow the basic recipe but I never make the roux to thicken it as I have been freezing this for this winter. A little cream and butter when reheating is a delicious addition to this fresh tasting soup. This is now, my go to recipe to use up our summer bounty of heirloom tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 791) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States