Garden Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I made this soup with the ingredients listed and it was "interesting". not bad, but interesting. I have a question about the ingredients: it calls for 4 whole cloves. Is it possible this should have read 4 whole GARLIC cloves or just four CLOVES. The addition of "CLOVES" was interesting. I also added some GARLIC cloves also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I made this soup "as is" and it was wonderful. Note: 1 slice onion is a typo. It should say 1 sliced onion.(which is shown in the video) I used my Ninja blender to puree it and all the skins and seeds were broken down completely. I did remove the cloves beforehand because they did not break down as well. The second time I added about a Tablespoon dried basil after the rue. This pairs well with grilled cheese. The third time I added roasted red pepper instead of basil which tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stella Reynoso
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I'd never made tomato soup before, but other recipes seemed more complicated, or called for ingredients I didn't readily have on hand. I found this one and have made this soup a number of times already, and it is just as quick, simple, and delicious each time! Added basil as a variation and it was fabulous. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella Reynoso

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Delicious - not for Rod
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Photo by Weedalot
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Amazing, tried it for the first time and I've loved how easy it is. Next time I'll add some extras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Weedalot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This soup is amazing with homegrown tomatoes and herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
This was delish! Even my kids loved it...or maybe it was the grilled cheese sandwiches that they dipped in it. I know folks say not to change the recipe then rate it, but here I am. I followed VIVIBO's advice on many things. Based on what I had on hand, I used two 28 oz cans of chopped tomatoes, one large sliced yellow onion, four cloves of garlic, two cups of broth, 1 tsp of sugar, dried basil (I know that's sacrilege, but it was POURING outside!), a dash or two of cayenne, salt and pepper, a dash of balsamic vinegar, approximately a cup of 1/2 n 1/2. I did not make a roux (didn't want to dirty another pan) but made a flour/water slurry instead. I like the idea of the roux, browning the butter and flour always adds a nice depth of flavor, but I was on a time crunch and didn't miss it. Just had the leftovers for lunch today and it was even better the second day. I liked the creaminess the 1/2 n 1/2 added, but could probably leave it out if freezing or watching calories. This is a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This is my favorite tomato soup recipe. Perfect when you have all those tomatoes coming in and not sure what to do with them. I have tried MANY tomato soups, and THIS one is the BEST! I did make the changes Vivibo suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Used garden tomatoes. Sauteed garlic and onion in olive oil then added the rest. Added 1/2 cup of heavy cream after I strained it. Double recipe next time. Boys loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Hmm. Did not have fresh tomatoes, so used two 28 oz cans diced tomatoes, and adjusted the servings to 9 (2 cans equaled about 6 cups, drained slightly). Rest was made as written, although because of the canned tomatoes, did not add additional salt - definitely didn't need it! Like others, the cloves confused me, but the video indicates cloves the spice, not garlic cloves, so I stuck with that. (3 whole cloves = 1/4 tsp ground, for those who wondered.). Left the soup a little chunky, which we liked, but hubby and I both thought the clove taste was a little odd, and a little strong. Will likely try this again, but will probably use garlic and basil instead of cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 782) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States