Garden Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Absolutely delicious. Forget the the roux and the whole cloves. Ground cloves work just fine. In fact, they really enhances the flavor of the soup. I used canned San Marzano crushed tomatoes, added a bay leaf, cayenne pepper, nutmeg, herbes de Provence, butter, some cream and chopped basil to finish. Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I didn't have all of the fresh tomatoes so I used a mix of 2 cans of diced tomatoes and the rest fresh. No cloves so added fresh garlic and a few more slices of onion. It was awesome! Didn't have to double recipe for my family of 4 and we had some left over. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mhansmann
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Absolutely and Defintely loved it!!!!!!!! Even though it´s a hot soup its light and fresh! Something to keep for the rest of my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mhansmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I used ground cloves, so only needed a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I had tomatoes that were pn their way to being used for something else when I had a taste for soup. I like that this soup is totally natural, having used fresh tomatoes and organic broth. Half a recipe was plenty for one person. How much easier can it get to prepare a healthy, light and tasty meal ? The next time, I will add croutons, which I love. Did not pay attention to the photo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Yum!! I used fresh Roma and vine-ripened tomatoes and used garlic instead if cloves. After the 20 minutes of boiling the tomatoes, I threw it all in the blender, added to the roux, and then added a half cup of half and half, chopped fresh basil and a half teaspoon of cayenne pepper. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
It was ok....but way too over powering with the cloves....And I only used 2. Had to add more tomatoes and a bit of cream to make it edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Excellent!! I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lucama, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
This was the first soup I ever made and I am really happy with how it turned out. This recipe is simple and straightforward. The only thing I had a little trouble with was the roux - I think I just need some practice with it and maybe need to work on my proportions. It got a little lumpy until I added the tomato mix to it, but it all turned out ok! I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kstephenson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I left out the roux and added a potato for thickness (am trying to cut down on dairy and wheat) and left out the sugar as it didn't need it, and it was delicious! I made it for my boo and then froze the rest and gave some to my mother who loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimsmac

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 708) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States