Garden Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by meuwzic
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
eh, OK. Not sure if it was good or not. I suppose I'll try again just in case I did something wrong....next tomato season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I have always enjoyed tomato soup as a kid. I still enjoy it to this day and my son has a real fondness for it as well. I am moving in the direction of less processed foods and so when I saw this recipe I was indeed hopeful. This soup did not disappoint. I had to use canned tomatoes, diced is all I had available. I sautéed the onion and garlic in a little olive oil, added the tomatoes, chicken stock, and cloves, as directed. Included a couple bay leaves and brought it all to a boil. I removed the bay leaves and cloves, Blended the tomato mixture in my vitamix and strained it through my mesh strainer. I made the roughe (sp) added the tomato liquid, some brown sugar, and a little basil. I added a little milk to my bowl and ladled in my soup. My son was very happy and so was I. I didn't think salt was necessary, plenty of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Srvhim4life

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
My family all enjoyed this. We made as written, however, I had to used canned tomatoes - I like Hunts whole tomatoes - I used 2 cans per recipe but needed to increase the sugar and salt a bit. Even with canned it was yummy. I used a submersion blender and did not bother to use the food mill OR make the roux - just cooked as directed, blended with a hand blender, and put it on the table. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
My son suggested we have grilled cheese sandwiches and tomato soup one night for dinner. I immediately searched here and am glad I did. This recipe is very simple and it's very likely you will have all of the ingredients on hand already. Ok, I'll admit it, I too made a few changes. First off, I'm not a clove fan so they had to go. Instead I used about 1 1/2 teaspoons of granulated garlic and a pinch or so of basil. I started by sauteeing the garlic and onion together then added a the basil, chicken broth and tomatoes and followed the recipe from there. The finished product is great. I'm not sure if I'll ever eat tomato soup from a can again. This also gives me another idea for what to do with the leftover tomatoes I'm going to have from my garden this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Gore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This soup is awesome! I sauteed the onions and garlic for about 10-15 minutes before adding the tomatoes and the broth. I didn't have fresh tomatoes, so I used two cans of whole peeled tomatoes, chopped them, and used the broth from one of the cans. Added cream at the end. I didn't add the cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Friends, after many years of dealing with puréeing soups, I finally figured it out: purée first, THEN cook. For those of us who use food processors with a plastic bowl, this will save time and ease your mind if you worry about hot food and plastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Amazingly simple and so delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This soup was delicious; however, I have one huge complaint. Using the directions given, this did not make 6 servings. Rather, it made exactly one bowl of soup. I should've known that 2 cups of broth was an unusually small amount, but it was my first time making homemade soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
We didn't really like this recipe. It should have more tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I made the soup as written and it's delicious. I ordered Fire roasted tomato basil soup at Caraba's that was incredible. Next time I will roast the tomatoes and onions prior to boiling. and add some red pepper flakes when I blend to add a little heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 735) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States