Garden Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
As written it was fine. We ate it. My husband liked it but it can be better. Now I make tomato soup all the time but it goes like this: 30oz tomato sauce, 24oz tomato paste, 32oz broth, onion & garlic to taste. Simple and so, so good. Add a grilled cheese and dinner is served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I agreed with one reviewer's tweaking of the recipe. It came out great and will be added to my rotation! Did not actually add the balsamic, but will try next time. Excellent, satisfying and sophisticated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This was good, however, I think I prefer tomato soup recipes that use tomato juice instead of chicken broth as a base. This just didn't have the rich tomato flavor that I'm looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ave's4cooking

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Fresh, light, and tasty. I would say that this makes closer to 4 servings than 6. (4 bowls or 6 cups of soup, maybe). I did what one reviewer suggested which was to puree the whole thing in a blender after it boils for 20 minutes, before going to the roux step. I also added parsley, basil, and thyme. I might try this again with some garlic. It was a tasty soup, and perfect with a grilled cheese sandwich (I had a smoked cheddar grilled cheese), but I think it was missing something, so maybe I'll add garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I am a mother of three teens, and a wife. I have a very picky 12 year old, and he can't get enough of this soup. He asks me to make it often! I often get recipes from here to change things up a bit from the usual weekday meals. This tomato soup is absolutely phenomenal as is!!! Honestly, the ONLY thing I took out was the clove because I can't have them. I would suggest that everyone follows the recipe as is! I have to adjust the recipe to 24 servings. (I know that's a lot, but I have a husband that loves to eat, and three teens). And, it is wiped out within 20 minutes! I love this recipe, and highly recommend it! It is a very sophisticated soup, and is worthy of dinner parties. I give it two very high thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I used holy trinity instead of just onions, and also added mushrooms and carrots. Whole milk instead of cream, and to cut the acid, instead of sugar, I put a pear in with the vegetables. Worked perfectly !! My additions took it a bit too far to still be called tomato soup, but it is an excellent creamy vegetable bisque ! I love winter. Soup weather is the best weather !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Oh heavenly! I never new cloves could be used to this effect. Certainly do not skip them. Created more waste than I expected, since I put it through a pretty fine mesh sieve, but it was totally worth it. Served with whole milk to cream-ify the soup and cheesy quinoa for a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplevegie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Good stuff. On its own, it is a little bland, so I added a couple tbsp. of garlic powder and about a tsp of cumin (basically both to taste). To me, the recipe needed very very little tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I made this soup according to the recipe but I used garlic instead of cloves because I didn't have any at my house. It was delicious and I loved the simplicity of it. You can tweak as many on here did but I thought it was great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Very good! So much better than canned and easy! I didn't bother to peel the tomatoes and I added garlic for extra flavour. I let everything simmer for 20 minutes and then used a hand blender to break it down. I removed the 4 whole cloves. Then added to the roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 788) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States