Garden Club Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I made the cake using applesauce instead of oil. I also used whipping cream instead of cool whip and added the toasted coconut to the frosting. My family liked the cake so I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I didn't read the frosting directions adequately before proceeding, it call for 2 cups of whipped topping...not a full container of cool whip! Fools rush in :) Still tastes great, I added a drop of green food coloring and topped it with chopped pistachios.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Moist and delicious are two good adjectives to describe this cake. It has a nice light pistachio taste. I made using Sprite soda and toasted the pecans and added toasted coconut. We really like cold cake so that was a plus in our book. The flavor did increase on the second day. Everyone enjoyed this cake and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
So, I gotta tell ya. I was in one of those "try something new" moods and I stumbled on this recipe. Very good! The whole family really enjoyed it and with it being so hot it was much better than a tried-and-true chocolate cake or something of the like. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
very good. Just like I remembered it to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2bakecookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2001
This cake is good and easy to make. However it is not as attractive as I was led to believe and only 1/2 the oil is needed or it is too wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Big Valley, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
This cake was a hit at my dinner party....and all my guest begged for the recipe. It was fast and easy to make....and scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2001
This was a great light and fluffy cake. Not too heavy to serve after a meal. And yummy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2000
I made this for Easter and the adults really loved it! My daughter and son both love pastachio (sp?) pudding so they thought it was great, my daughter is graduating college this year, and my son is 12, so it really is accepted by all people. The other children there tasted it but I didn't hear anything like I heard from the adults!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2000
gio gio very gioly good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States