Garden Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pam
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I had trouble w/ the carrots cooking in the amount of time the recipe called for. It took at least 40 min for them to be tender, and I chopped them fairly small. I would recommend dicing them instead. I would also recommend not adding the flour to the veggies first. Next time I make this, I'll add the stock (I used stock in place of boullion & water) to the veggies and simmer till tender. Then, stir the flour into the milk and add that to the soup along w/ the cheese. This will allow more time if needed for the veggies to cook w/o affecting the texture, as I noticed the soup was slightly grainy from having to cook it too long. Otherwise, the taste was lovely and my children went back for seconds. :) ETA: I also thought 2/3 cup of flour was alot. It could probably be cut back to 1/3 cup w/ success. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This soup was phenomal! My hubby loved it! My tweaks: did as others and sauteed the garlic with onions and celery; I decreased cheese to two cups; used skim milk; added an extra 1/2c. potatoes, probably 1-1/2c. cauliflower. Could have added some broccoli or more carrots or cauliflower. My young boys gobbled it right up! Thanks for sharing! Oh, and I didn't add any salt, just 1/2t. pepper. The salt from the bouillon was enough for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Not nearly as good as I imagined...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Great base recipe! I used what veggies I had in the fridge and it turned out tasty. Even my husband who doesn't like vegetables at all approved of this soup. My only change was to sautee three cloves of garlic along with the onions and celery. Other than that....yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsDiaz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eagle Rock, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Oh my goodness!! Yummy! I didn't have celery, so I put in some celery seed and chopped broccoli. It was amazing! This is definitely going into the rotation! Next time I will shoot for the real recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I didn't have any chives, so I left them out. I also added some crumbled bacon. My family is clamoring for more. I think that next time, I will wait to add the flour with the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I have made this many times with many different combinations of veggies. Always turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This is excellent! I added less water and added a can of brocoli/cheese soup instead. I mix just a tad of swiss chess with a mixture of different cheeses. Next time I will add brocoli, cauliflower and red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
WOW! This recipe was great. I served the soup in bread bowls, it was a big hit. Since it was so filling, I used it as the main dish for dinner. My boyfriend did not even mind that there wasn't any meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Made this recipe for a fellowship meal at church--everyone loved it and my container was completely emptied! I couldn't find fresh chives so I used freeze-dried and also added some cayenne pepper to kick up the taste a bit. Excellent recipe, Stacy A.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States