Garden Basket Pasta with Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
A very delicious pasta dish that is also quite low-fat! Instead of olive oil, I used cooking spray. I cut the salt from 1/2 tsp to 1/4 tsp and used just a pinch of red pepper flakes instead of 1/4 tsp. I omitted the minced carrots, fresh parsley, and fresh basil because I did not have any. I added 2 teaspoons of dried parsley and 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano with the tomatoes. After turning off the heat, I added some fresh snipped chives. I will definitely make this pasta again because it is so healthy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
Excellent!! The flavors really blend well in this. I added a little more garlic and red pepper than the recipe called for, but other than that, no variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Junebug883

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
I really thought this recipe was wonderful ! I did add real clams instead of jarred. It really added to the presentation. This is a keeper !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
I don't normally bother leaving reviews for anything...but I loved this recipe so much that I had to tell everyone how awesome it is. Healthy, flavourful, and just enough spicyness...perfect! Also, very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
This is an excellent recipe! I used a Cubanelle Pepper in place of the bell, I'm allergic. My son said I should always make a double batch of this recipe because it's just too good. Thank you, Star for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
WOW I don't usually like clams and I loved this recipe. I followed the recipe except I didn't add tomatoes (didn't have any) and I used vermecelli instead of fettucine. The only thing I would do different next time is cut back on the parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
This recipe was super easy to make and combined numerous healthy ingredients creating a great flavor! As soon as I simmered the garlic and onion, I knew it was going to be good! The red pepper adds a bit of a kick for a great surprise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Made this for dinner this evening and it was fantastic. Followed the directions, except I used a small can of Italian tomtoes)with basil,garlic,etc) and added 2 tablespoons of tomato paste to thicken the sauce. I also added some fresh asparagus. Served with garic bread. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
A nice balance of sweet veggies and spices are delicious with the clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This was a hit in my house - but made pretty much as directed, 3 of us polished it off (over 9 oz. pasta) and my 14yo nephew was still hungry. If you serve 8 with this, you're not getting enough veggies! I used a 14.5-oz can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh (crop failure in my garden this year :-( ) and no salt. And of course cheese on top! A tablespoon or 2 of tomato paste would have been a nice addition to thicken and for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States