Garbanzo Bean and Sausage Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I made this tonight, with a few adjustments, and we loved it. I diced onions, green pepper, and 6 cloves of garlic, sautéed onions in leftover grease, then added garlic until soft, then green peppers. The recipe was great for instructions on rue- no trouble there! I added diced canned tomatoes with juice and would let the liquid cook off some before I add the stock next time. I only used three cans of stock because we wanted the liquid to stay thick and creamy. After it started to boil I added the garbanzo beans, sausage, and herbs, brought to a full boil while stirring and then added the noodles. I let that boil while stirring until the noodles were done. We ate it right away and it was great! I used ground sweet Italian sausage from a local farm. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Yum! This was tasty! Used polish sausage and 1 can of garbanzo beans (drained & rinsed). Did need to add additional chicken stock (maybe 1-2 cups more). Will make again. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
My family and I really liked this recipe. I used Polish Keilbasa and half the basil and omitted the red pepper. Very hearty and flavorful. I used the penne pasta that I had in the cupboard. I also did not simmer it for 3 hours-- I just threw it all together as directed and it turned out fine. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ann marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Really good, but definitely highly dependent on the flavor of the sausage. I used "ardelenesc" sausage that you can find here in Romania and it was awesome. I don't think it would be as good with italian sausage, but maybe that's just a personal thing. It probably would be really good with kielbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thugglife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I absolutely LOVE this dish it has become a bi-weeekly meal for us. I did make a few changes though i don't add the bell pepper or the pasta, I use 2 cans of diced tomatoes w/garlic and herbs, and i use a 1lb dinner sausage-beef summer sausage and 1lb of italian sausage. I also cook my garbanzo beans in the crockpot overnight on high to get them as soft as possible. Also i never add any salt or ground black pepper because it's got enough spice with the crushed red and the chicken stock has plenty of salt. Hands down one of my favorite meals
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
this was delicious...i cooked my garbonzos slow style in chicken stock all day...yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Bf really liked this. I thought it was okay--it's very flavored by the sausage, so choose something you like! I'm thinking the difference in our opinions has more to do with bf liking the sausage I used more than I like it. I changed this a bit bc bc didn't want me to do the roux, so I didn't, and I wanted to put it in the crockpot. So, I put everything except the chickpeas and pasta in, let it cook for several hours, then added the chickpeas about 45 mins before, and the pasta about 10 mins before serving. Worked perfectly, although I accidently dumped in more pasta than it called for. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Great! I substituted quite a bit here... I used two hot sausage links for the meat, kale instead of the pasta (to cut back on the carbs) and extra garbanzo beans. Topped with a little sour cream. Yum! Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caley022
Home Town: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I made it pretty spice, but we loved it. I made cornbread muffins to accompany the stew and it made a great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
The fiance loved how healthy of a dish this was, he said it made him feel good all over. I think it had way to many garbanzo beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States