Garbanzo Bean and Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is a yummy recipe for quinoa, and healthy too. I have made it twice and never had mint, so I just left it out and it was still good. I agree it needs a little more oil, maybe 2 Tbsp, and chopped leftover chicken or turkey is excellent too. Definitely add salt and pepper to taste. It makes just enough, to serve with salad as the main dish or as a side for four, and still with enough for lunch leftovers. This is one of my go-to quinoa recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I found this salad to be quite bland... I could barely taste the spices. I added goat feta and approx. 1 tbsp of red wine vinegar to try rescue the dish, along with more salt/ pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Very different, but very tasty! I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunkissed3894

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandstone, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Delicious and satisfying!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Great. Made this exactly as written for a school potluck. All our Celiac people loved it and thanked me over and over again for it. Others liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This is a very good introduction to quinoa, although novices should be told you need to rinse quinoa first to avoid a bitter taste. I didn't have any fresh mint, but people loved the mint so much I attempted to substitute peppermint extract (halving the recipe I used 1/2 tsp of extract) and the results were not great. It was way too minty. Next time I'll get fresh mint or leave it out completely. I also left out coriander because I didn't have any. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Made recipe exactly as written and overall thought the salad was good. The spices could use some tweaking and it definitely needed more oil. But the flavors paired quite well to create a good earthy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I find this to be a very satisfying dish! I've made it several times now and I think it's a nice marriage of flavors and textures. I have been using fresh cilantro rather than corriander powder which brightens it a bit. However, if it's all you have available, it's still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Really enjoyed this. To make it nutless I left out the almonds. Also I used dried mint because that was what I had in the house. Served it to company and it was a big success. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This was a huge hit!! So many different flavors going on here! The mint adds sooooo much! LOVE IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States