Garbanzo Bean and Pepper Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This was a super easy salad to make and my husband loved it even though he isn't fond of garbanzo beans. He loved the lemon dressing to it. I didn't add jalapeño to it because I have little kids but they loved the salad too. I imagine if I could taste it with the jalapeño, I would probably give it 5 stars since it would have more diverse flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This is a great salad. I had a salad like this in a great restaurant around my area, but didn't know what all the ingredients were. Now I make this all the time (I think my kids are getting tired of it) Although it doesn't need anything else, I changed to cilantro instead of parsley. I also knew I was going to prepare this for dinner after church service , so I chopped the peppers, onions and added pinch of salt, olive oil and red wine vinegar and set it aside for later. Let me tell you what I got....A pickled delicious mess!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I first had this on a plane, of all places! It was made with cilantro instead of parsley. I like both. YUMMY! My husband likes it because it tastes like hummus before it hits the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
We loved the red pepper and garbanzo beans and added celery and some blanched green and wax beans for added umph! A very nice salad to toss together on a warm summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Winged it on this - I just added and tossed to my liking, until it looked right to me. Left out the jalapeno because I didn't have any and added artichokes because I did. I did use the mix of lime and lemon but I would have preferred just the lemon. Light, fresh, Mediterranean flavors. Ripe black olives would be a terrific addition. (In fact, I think I might still do that)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
We just tried this recipe and everyone loved it. I added cilantro instead of the parsley and added chopped kalamata olives. The possibilities are endless. I found that I would use 2 cans of the garbanzos if using 2 of each peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
With only one red pepper, onion and jalapeno mixed in with a 15oz can of garbanzo beans, I knew I'd need another can of beans. I don't know how anyone could use 4 bell peppers and still expect to find a chickpea on their fork!!! This was fresh and easy to make, but I changed the recipe a lot (leaving out 3 peppers, adding another can of beans). Maybe I shouldn't even have reviewed it??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
I just love this salad and so does all who eat it. I serve it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Mexican Bean Salad

This authentic salad is bright with colors and complex flavors.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States