Garbanzo Bean and Pepper Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This was a super easy salad to make and my husband loved it even though he isn't fond of garbanzo beans. He loved the lemon dressing to it. I didn't add jalapeño to it because I have little kids but they loved the salad too. I imagine if I could taste it with the jalapeño, I would probably give it 5 stars since it would have more diverse flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This is a great salad. I had a salad like this in a great restaurant around my area, but didn't know what all the ingredients were. Now I make this all the time (I think my kids are getting tired of it) Although it doesn't need anything else, I changed to cilantro instead of parsley. I also knew I was going to prepare this for dinner after church service , so I chopped the peppers, onions and added pinch of salt, olive oil and red wine vinegar and set it aside for later. Let me tell you what I got....A pickled delicious mess!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I first had this on a plane, of all places! It was made with cilantro instead of parsley. I like both. YUMMY! My husband likes it because it tastes like hummus before it hits the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
We loved the red pepper and garbanzo beans and added celery and some blanched green and wax beans for added umph! A very nice salad to toss together on a warm summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Winged it on this - I just added and tossed to my liking, until it looked right to me. Left out the jalapeno because I didn't have any and added artichokes because I did. I did use the mix of lime and lemon but I would have preferred just the lemon. Light, fresh, Mediterranean flavors. Ripe black olives would be a terrific addition. (In fact, I think I might still do that)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
We just tried this recipe and everyone loved it. I added cilantro instead of the parsley and added chopped kalamata olives. The possibilities are endless. I found that I would use 2 cans of the garbanzos if using 2 of each peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
With only one red pepper, onion and jalapeno mixed in with a 15oz can of garbanzo beans, I knew I'd need another can of beans. I don't know how anyone could use 4 bell peppers and still expect to find a chickpea on their fork!!! This was fresh and easy to make, but I changed the recipe a lot (leaving out 3 peppers, adding another can of beans). Maybe I shouldn't even have reviewed it??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
I just love this salad and so does all who eat it. I serve it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States