Garbanzo Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Wow, this is really good. And super quick to make. I substituted Italian seasoning for the rosemary though just because I don't care for rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Homemade Spaghetti-O's. Yech! So not special. I added a few tablespoons of minced dried onions at the beginning, and had to keep adding water to try and have enough water for the pasta, which still stuck to the bottom of the pan. I couldn't add enough Salt and Pepper, and I added quite a bit of garlic powder. Oh, and I served with Parmesan and Mozzarella sprinkled on top. I only tried this recipe because it was the only thing that used Acini Di Pepe that wasn't sweet, or just didn't look appetizing, and I'm afraid this only looked good to me because I LOVE garbanzo's, which did nothing to redeem this. Oh and because I had a #10 can of tomatoes. The rest will go towards a nice homemade chili. This only gets 3 stars because it happened to be a home run with all of my kids. Who'd have guessed? Next time however, I'll save myself 30 minutes and just dump a can of beans into O's, and open a can of something yummy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarefootMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
When I came to review this recipe I realized I forgot the pasta! Whoops - but it was great. I used dry garbanzo beans, 1 lb soaked overnight and cooked in the crock pot all day. Then I used both 1 can peeled tomatoes and a can of tomato paste as I had more beans. I also added onion, garlic, celery and carrots and more spices as others have suggested. When it was about time to eat I blended it a bit with my hand held blender - about half the beans were chopped into small grains, a very nice texture. Is it the same recipe? Not exactly but it was wonderful. This recipe is a great place to start. I've never made soup with garbanzos before but I will again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Very good soup. I added additional water, a chicken boullion cube, dried rosemary, carrots and minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This is a very basic soup that's tasty but if you add some veggies it makes it great!!! I had a little bit of a lot of things I needed to use up, I added frozen spinach that was thawed, chopped red pepper, chopped onion, some small zucchinis and used a small swirly pasta. Made this for lunches for the rest of this week, but it was so good I ate the rest for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Despite the positive reviews, I found it bland and uninteresting. I used a clove of garlic (blended with the garbanzos), dried rosemary, and omitted the pasta as I didn’t have anything appropriate on hand. I don’t think any of these changes made an important difference. I’ll probably use the rest as a pasta sauce, maybe adding some olives, or something to give it a stronger flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAGANANGEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Great soup! I only had 1 can of beans, so it wasn't as thick as originally stated, but it was still yummy! I also tossed in some veggies (carrots, celery, yellow squash, & zucchini) that I needed get rid of, as well as some garlic. I love thick soups, so I definitely want to make this again with the extra can of beans to make it thicker! Rather than mashing 1/2 of the beans in a food processor, I just put my beans into a small Ziplock baggie & rolled my can of tomatoes over the bag until they were mashed. Very easy...and no cleanup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
ADD LIQUID! Otherwise awesome! I loved loved loved this soup. However, after reading the reviews I added two extra cans of tomatoes and one can of chicken broth. Came out a nice thick soup consistency. I served with with lamb chops but it's definitely hardy enough to stand on it's own with some nice crusty bread. I used whole wheat small shells which is what I had on hand and it was great and also healthy! I also added roasted minced garlic and a few dashes of hot sauce. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I thought this was a good recipe and would definitely make it again. I substituted basil, parsley, thyme for the rosemary(didn't have any) and added extra water. I also didn't go thru the trouble of using a blender to puree the beans, I simply mashed them up like you would for mashed potatoes. Once done I sprinkled parmesan cheese. Light and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebecca-l

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
Wicked good. Reminded me of SpaghettiOs, but tasty. Super thick, which is one reason I liked it so much. Dried rosemary works fine. We also used orzo instead of acini di pepe pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States