Garbanzo Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
I added another can of undrained tomatoes plus two cups of water, basil and thyme. The soup tasted good and was very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
I made this pretty much as written, substituting orzo for the acini di pepe. It makes a very thick soup, very good for a quick pantry dinner. It could easily be thinned for a more "soup-like" meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
A very appealing recipe that just didn't deliver. It was VERY thick. I had to keep adding water. More a paste than a soup. It also had no 'kick'. I think with garlic, onions, maybe more tomato, it could be better. As is, it could be used as a dip of some sort, but not as a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
This was good, for those of us who like garbanzos, but was VERY thick. We used it as a sidedish, but not until I added a few dashes of hot sauce, another can of the diced tomatoes, and some italian herbs. I also tried it cold the next day thinking it might make an interesting summer side dish, but we didn't find it very appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Good flavor but this is not soup. I'd also say...puree all the garbanzo if you're wanting soup. I added 2 cups of water and doubled tomatoes * rosemary and it was still bone dry. Still a decent pantry ready recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
Wicked good. Reminded me of SpaghettiOs, but tasty. Super thick, which is one reason I liked it so much. Dried rosemary works fine. We also used orzo instead of acini di pepe pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I thought this was a good recipe and would definitely make it again. I substituted basil, parsley, thyme for the rosemary(didn't have any) and added extra water. I also didn't go thru the trouble of using a blender to puree the beans, I simply mashed them up like you would for mashed potatoes. Once done I sprinkled parmesan cheese. Light and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebecca-l

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
ADD LIQUID! Otherwise awesome! I loved loved loved this soup. However, after reading the reviews I added two extra cans of tomatoes and one can of chicken broth. Came out a nice thick soup consistency. I served with with lamb chops but it's definitely hardy enough to stand on it's own with some nice crusty bread. I used whole wheat small shells which is what I had on hand and it was great and also healthy! I also added roasted minced garlic and a few dashes of hot sauce. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Great soup! I only had 1 can of beans, so it wasn't as thick as originally stated, but it was still yummy! I also tossed in some veggies (carrots, celery, yellow squash, & zucchini) that I needed get rid of, as well as some garlic. I love thick soups, so I definitely want to make this again with the extra can of beans to make it thicker! Rather than mashing 1/2 of the beans in a food processor, I just put my beans into a small Ziplock baggie & rolled my can of tomatoes over the bag until they were mashed. Very easy...and no cleanup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Despite the positive reviews, I found it bland and uninteresting. I used a clove of garlic (blended with the garbanzos), dried rosemary, and omitted the pasta as I didn’t have anything appropriate on hand. I don’t think any of these changes made an important difference. I’ll probably use the rest as a pasta sauce, maybe adding some olives, or something to give it a stronger flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAGANANGEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States