Garbanzo Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
I added another can of undrained tomatoes plus two cups of water, basil and thyme. The soup tasted good and was very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
I made this pretty much as written, substituting orzo for the acini di pepe. It makes a very thick soup, very good for a quick pantry dinner. It could easily be thinned for a more "soup-like" meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
A very appealing recipe that just didn't deliver. It was VERY thick. I had to keep adding water. More a paste than a soup. It also had no 'kick'. I think with garlic, onions, maybe more tomato, it could be better. As is, it could be used as a dip of some sort, but not as a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
This was good, for those of us who like garbanzos, but was VERY thick. We used it as a sidedish, but not until I added a few dashes of hot sauce, another can of the diced tomatoes, and some italian herbs. I also tried it cold the next day thinking it might make an interesting summer side dish, but we didn't find it very appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Good flavor but this is not soup. I'd also say...puree all the garbanzo if you're wanting soup. I added 2 cups of water and doubled tomatoes * rosemary and it was still bone dry. Still a decent pantry ready recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
Wicked good. Reminded me of SpaghettiOs, but tasty. Super thick, which is one reason I liked it so much. Dried rosemary works fine. We also used orzo instead of acini di pepe pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I thought this was a good recipe and would definitely make it again. I substituted basil, parsley, thyme for the rosemary(didn't have any) and added extra water. I also didn't go thru the trouble of using a blender to puree the beans, I simply mashed them up like you would for mashed potatoes. Once done I sprinkled parmesan cheese. Light and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebecca-l

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
ADD LIQUID! Otherwise awesome! I loved loved loved this soup. However, after reading the reviews I added two extra cans of tomatoes and one can of chicken broth. Came out a nice thick soup consistency. I served with with lamb chops but it's definitely hardy enough to stand on it's own with some nice crusty bread. I used whole wheat small shells which is what I had on hand and it was great and also healthy! I also added roasted minced garlic and a few dashes of hot sauce. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Great soup! I only had 1 can of beans, so it wasn't as thick as originally stated, but it was still yummy! I also tossed in some veggies (carrots, celery, yellow squash, & zucchini) that I needed get rid of, as well as some garlic. I love thick soups, so I definitely want to make this again with the extra can of beans to make it thicker! Rather than mashing 1/2 of the beans in a food processor, I just put my beans into a small Ziplock baggie & rolled my can of tomatoes over the bag until they were mashed. Very easy...and no cleanup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Despite the positive reviews, I found it bland and uninteresting. I used a clove of garlic (blended with the garbanzos), dried rosemary, and omitted the pasta as I didn’t have anything appropriate on hand. I don’t think any of these changes made an important difference. I’ll probably use the rest as a pasta sauce, maybe adding some olives, or something to give it a stronger flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAGANANGEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States