Garbanzo Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
Sooooo good. This salad is perfect.. It's filling enough for my boyfriend and healthy enough for me. Very refreshing and easy. I served it on a bed of romaine lettuce and fresh baby spinach instead of iceberg. And I used pecans. But I think any nut would be great in this salad. It is great as a side for grilled salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
Everyone liked this. I served it as a main course salad on a mixture of baby spinach and romaine along with rice and sauteed vegetables. I substituted a TBSP. of the mayo with olive oil and added a bit more mustard and lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
This salad was great! I did use some halved red grapes along with a golden delicious apple; I also used slivered almonds instead of the walnuts. I'll definitely make it again with the slight alterations. It's great for a crowd too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
I really enjoyed this salad...kind of like a Waldorf salad. I went easy on the mayo, used almonds instead of walnuts, and added some dried cranberries. It was very good! I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnooziQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windham, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
Nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
I thought this was great, although I did feel compelled to season it a bit more. I substituted brown sugar for honey, forgot to put in nuts, used 'Ultra Low-Fat Miracle Whip', and threw it a few spices. I was GOING to eat the leftovers but it seems that my husband beat me to them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
Very easy and different. Used green onions instead of regular onion and didn't have walnuts so I subbed dried cherries. I love garbanzo beans and look for ways to use them. Served with fried chicken and deviled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doggymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Monterey, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
Very good! I used sweet onions and added about 1/4 cup. I also added salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
This was great! I think next time I'll add some dried cranberries to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Very good. I found the dressing to be lightly sweet with a very subtle flavor. The salad made for a really nice light lunch, and I could see adding in a bit of sliced leftover chicken to make it heartier if desired. Next time I would add in some grapes, as suggested, along with the apple for a bit of tanginess. Definitely use a nice tart apple such as granny smith.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States